tension simulation for networks

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

tension simulation for networks

Post by microelly2 »

I'm looking for a ready to run method to simulate the tension forces in a rubber band network
the force is proportional to the lenght of a segment (hooke)

I pin some points (in the vide I use arcs to mark them)
the network is a sketch object with coincidence constraints only and the fixed positions of the pinned points.

phpBB [video]


is there a fem module and a tutorial how to get this running?
thanks for a tipp.
thschrader
Veteran
Posts: 3157
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by thschrader »

Hi microelly2,
what you wanna do is a shape optimization of a tensile structure.
For engineers this is one of the toughest stuff you can do!
Good luck :) and some hints...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gb5p0htTj4U
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P41462SbG1I
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9pA_YxYkoY
https://www.b-tu.de/great-engineers-lex ... rfindungen
thschrader
Veteran
Posts: 3157
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by thschrader »

Hi microelly,
can you give some more explanation on the video?
If I understand the process correct, you use a starting grid and then
"relax" the grid. What is the criterion? To get the global minimum of the strain energy?
There is a state at 0:06 where two grid members in my opinion are under "pressure",
not tension. Otherwise there would be no static equilibrium possible. Is it a planar grid
or 3D? regards thomas
phase1.JPG
phase1.JPG (27.66 KiB) Viewed 2594 times
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Veteran
Posts: 7896
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: used to be Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by DeepSOIC »

thschrader wrote: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:28 pm If I understand the process correct, you use a starting grid and then
"relax" the grid. What is the criterion? To get the global minimum of the strain energy?
To me it looks like an iterative process with fixed number of iterations, where on each iteration each point is moved along the net force vector.
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by microelly2 »

DeepSOIC wrote: Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:35 pm
thschrader wrote: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:28 pm If I understand the process correct, you use a starting grid and then
"relax" the grid. What is the criterion? To get the global minimum of the strain energy?
To me it looks like an iterative process with fixed number of iterations, where on each iteration each point is moved along the net force vector.
yes that's it at the moment. i calculate for each vertex the sum of all its edge vectors as force.
it is a 2D sketcher simulation because I want the easy way to add more constraints to the model.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by bernd »

Still I do not really understand what data do you input, and what you would like to analyse. Since it is sketch based I assume all members are in a plane. Furthermore rubber usually behaves highly nonlinear when leaving linear stress, strain range. In which range are you? Your edges are staight, but rubber usually has no bending stiffness. What do you assume?

Bernd
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by microelly2 »

bernd wrote: Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:42 pm Still I do not really understand what data do you input, and what you would like to analyse. Since it is sketch based I assume all members are in a plane. Furthermore rubber usually behaves highly nonlinear when leaving linear stress, strain range. In which range are you? Your edges are staight, but rubber usually has no bending stiffness. What do you assume?

Bernd
in the simplest case the force is the hooke force if a line is longer than mk = 2,
its a simple linear model and can be changed later. if the length is less than 2 then there is no force.


Code: Select all

	f=0.01

	for n in g2.nodes():

		nbs=g2.neighbors(n)
		v0=g2.node[n]['vector']
		r=FreeCAD.Vector()

		for nb in nbs:

			mk=2
			tf=g2.node[nb]['vector'] -v0 
			if tf.Length > mk:
				fac= 1.0*(tf.Length-mk)/mk
				tf=tf * fac
			else:
				tf= FreeCAD.Vector()
			r += tf

		(a,b)=list(conix[n])[0]

		rc=sk.movePoint(a,b,v0+ r*f,0)
		g2.node[n]['vector2']=v0+ r*f
		rc=sk.solve()
User avatar
regis
Posts: 735
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by regis »

microelly2 wrote: Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:32 pm I'm looking for a ready to run method to simulate the tension forces in a rubber band network
the force is proportional to the lenght of a segment (hooke)

I pin some points (in the vide I use arcs to mark them)
the network is a sketch object with coincidence constraints only and the fixed positions of the pinned points.

phpBB [video]


is there a fem module and a tutorial how to get this running?
thanks for a tipp.
cool stuff,
this reminds me of this
Architecture in FreeCad is promissing.

phpBB [video]


phpBB [video]
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by microelly2 »

regis wrote: Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:49 pm
cool stuff,
this reminds me of this
Architecture in FreeCad is promissing.
having some of the grasshopper features would be a nice thing.
I still look for a fast open source solution,
otherwise I will work on my slower version.
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tension simulation for networks

Post by microelly2 »

I used the idea of abdullah to describe a next dimension by a circle
to get an easy to run sketch configuration.

phpBB [video]
Post Reply