Converting STL to GCODE .....

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
willsot

Converting STL to GCODE .....

Postby willsot » Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:59 am

Hi, I am totally new to FreeCAD and 3D Printing, bought a Trendy kit and have put it together and printed the test pillar (yeah), but when I download (STL) files from Thingiverse.com, my printer does not recognise or print. After doing some more research and have a bit of a play with several online/free programs I still can not figure out how to convert STL files to GCOPE for printing.

To comply with the rules:
Just downloaded FreeCAD so it should be up to date
FreeCAD version info
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6712 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: da2d364457257a7a8c6fb2137cea12c45becd71a
Python version: 2.7.11
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
SORRY - The system tells me the STL files are to large to attach, but they are from thingiverse.com (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2419657)

The problem:
I open FREECAD
Open the Filter or Dish STL file and select the object.
I have tried FILE-EXPORT select gcode as my file type nothing happens. No error, no file.
I went online and found several sites that explain a MESH analyse process, followed by a PART building process, then export as GCODE, but again no error, no file.

is there a simple way (using FreeCAD) to convert STL files to GCODE for printing??

Thanks
Attachments
filter.stl
(95 KiB) Downloaded 316 times
chrisb

Re: Converting STL to GCODE .....

Postby chrisb » Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:19 pm

The FreeCAD gcode won't help you for 3D printing, it is designed for milling. So it takes material off rather than adding it. What you need is a slicer program like Cura. That can read STL and output printer gcode.
MostlyHarmless