Converting STL to GCODE .....

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
willsot

Converting STL to GCODE .....

Post by willsot »

Hi, I am totally new to FreeCAD and 3D Printing, bought a Trendy kit and have put it together and printed the test pillar (yeah), but when I download (STL) files from Thingiverse.com, my printer does not recognise or print. After doing some more research and have a bit of a play with several online/free programs I still can not figure out how to convert STL files to GCOPE for printing.

To comply with the rules:
Just downloaded FreeCAD so it should be up to date
FreeCAD version info
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6712 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: da2d364457257a7a8c6fb2137cea12c45becd71a
Python version: 2.7.11
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
SORRY - The system tells me the STL files are to large to attach, but they are from thingiverse.com (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2419657)

The problem:
I open FREECAD
Open the Filter or Dish STL file and select the object.
I have tried FILE-EXPORT select gcode as my file type nothing happens. No error, no file.
I went online and found several sites that explain a MESH analyse process, followed by a PART building process, then export as GCODE, but again no error, no file.

is there a simple way (using FreeCAD) to convert STL files to GCODE for printing??

Thanks
Attachments
filter.stl
(95 KiB) Downloaded 432 times
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Converting STL to GCODE .....

Post by chrisb »

The FreeCAD gcode won't help you for 3D printing, it is designed for milling. So it takes material off rather than adding it. What you need is a slicer program like Cura. That can read STL and output printer gcode.