Feature #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10537
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Feature #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:22 pm

issue #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time
Similiar to LibreCAD

Image

Inspired by this thread: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p223411
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
kkremitzki
Posts: 2294
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Feature #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time

Postby kkremitzki » Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:06 pm

Would also be a useful feature re: this thread: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=27617
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10537
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Jul 29, 2018 11:56 am

Wikilab represented by @silas are willing to tackle this feature, see https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29610
silas wrote:ping
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10537
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:02 pm

Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
kkremitzki
Posts: 2294
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Feature #3393: Configuration wizard when launching FreeCAD for the first time

Postby kkremitzki » Thu Oct 15, 2020 1:19 am

I found this interesting snippet on first-run wizards in the KDE wiki: https://community.kde.org/Get_Involved/ ... run_wizard
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.