when opening via command-line with files specified, a new file is created too

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
bfriedman
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:41 pm

when opening via command-line with files specified, a new file is created too

Postby bfriedman » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:53 pm

This is a: is it a bug/feature/design change/user-error/etc? Question.

I am pipelining FreeCAD into a larger content management system.

I have it to the point that my system opens FreeCAD via command-line and specifies a file to open in that command-line.

However, when I open FreeCAD this way, it pedantically adheres to the preference for, "create new document at startup."

That is to say: I end up with two files open if this preference is set to True. First, the one I specified on the command-line, and also a new, "Unnamed" file. And yes, if I turn off that preference, I get just the file on the command-line without the "Unnamed" file.

My question: Shouldn't it only "create new document at startup" when no files are specified on the command-line? If I'm specifying files to open, you'd think there's no need to also create an empty one in most cases.

Or, perhaps a command-line flag for specifying the desire to create a new file, or not create a new file?

Or am I missing something?

Is this a bug or intended behavior? Feature request?

Thanks for taking a look.

-brad
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14612
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: when opening via command-line with files specified, a new file is created too

Postby wmayer » Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:20 pm

My question: Shouldn't it only "create new document at startup" when no files are specified on the command-line? If I'm specifying files to open, you'd think there's no need to also create an empty one in most cases.
I think you are right that when opening an existing project then no additional empty is needed.
Is this a bug or intended behavior? Feature request?
Feel free to open a feature request in the issue tracker.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: when opening via command-line with files specified, a new file is created too

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:40 pm

OP opened issue #3443
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features