Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5764
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:50 pm

issue #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint.
Discussion thread.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1957
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby Jee-Bee » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:23 pm

+1 but i prefere one button for both options...
something single click is radius
click twice (left+right/ top+ bottom/ same place) is diameter
chrisb
Posts: 18826
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby chrisb » Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:56 pm

I would like to see it in the way e.g. arc works in sketcher: the icon is in a drop down menu and the last selection remains.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5933
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby bejant » Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:22 pm

chrisb wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:56 pm
I would like to see it in the way e.g. arc works in sketcher: the icon is in a drop down menu and the last selection remains.
+1 from me for adding a Diameter Constraint, in addition to the existing Radius Constraint.
Another +1 for the icon behavior (similar to Arc, Circle, Conic Section, BSpline, and Polygon tools in Sketcher Geometries) where the last selection is remembered.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:02 pm

Hi all
This was also discussed some time ago, years, there should be a feature request in the bug tracker. If not someone should create one. This sounds like the sort of thing Abdulla might be interested in doing.
Jim
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5764
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:30 pm

jmaustpc wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:02 pm
Hi all
This was also discussed some time ago, years, there should be a feature request in the bug tracker. If not someone should create one. This sounds like the sort of thing Abdulla might be interested in doing.
Jim
It's in the thread title: issue #1632 :lol:
Cheers
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
chrisb
Posts: 18826
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:59 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:30 pm
It's in the thread title: issue #1632 :lol:
And issue #2317 as well. Years ago it was promised to be implemented in a couple of days :D . Now I would rather bet on
abdullah wrote:Abdullah
than on nggallaher.
abdullah
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby abdullah » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:02 pm

jmaustpc wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:02 pm
Hi all
This was also discussed some time ago, years, there should be a feature request in the bug tracker. If not someone should create one. This sounds like the sort of thing Abdulla might be interested in doing.
Jim
I'll give it a try...
chrisb
Posts: 18826
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:06 pm

abdullah wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:02 pm
I'll give it a try...
Thanks already for that!
abdullah
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby abdullah » Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:28 pm

Something like this?
Dia_constraint.png
Dia_constraint.png (94.7 KiB) Viewed 729 times