Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
abdullah
Posts: 3584
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby abdullah » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:08 pm

Still a little bit edgy, but a start:
Dia_Constraint.gif
Dia_Constraint.gif (368.34 KiB) Viewed 404 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby NormandC » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:53 pm

Great!
chrisb
Posts: 29177
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:18 pm

NormandC wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:53 pm
Great!
You name it.

Two questions: Do we need a new icon for the block constraint? Should the diameter have two arrow tips?
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby NormandC » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:30 pm

Oops, I see what you mean. If you put arrow tips on the diameter constraint icon, you'd have to add them to all other dimensional constraint icons, I'd think. But their lines are too thick to allow it...

Or maybe simply make it like the diameter symbol, with the slanted line exceeding the circle?
chrisb
Posts: 29177
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:38 pm

NormandC wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:30 pm
Or maybe simply make it like the diameter symbol, with the slanted line exceeding the circle?
Very good idea!

My second question was misleading. I didn't want to have the two tips in the icon, but in 3D view. Horizontal and vertical measures have them too.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby NormandC » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:41 pm

Yes, I agree the shown dimension in the 3D view should have two arrow tips.

Those pesky users, never happy ;)
dbecad
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:10 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby dbecad » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:32 pm

Great work :)
As for the selection, would something like contextual mouse placement be better instead of multiplying the icons?

What I mean is switching automatically from one to the other:
- if the cursor is inside the circle use diameter
- if the cursor is outside of the circle use radius

That kind of behavior is used by other CAD software.
Cheers
chrisb
Posts: 29177
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:47 pm

dbecad wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:32 pm
Great work :)
As for the selection, would something like contextual mouse placement be better instead of multiplying the icons?
I think the current solution meets very well the behaviour of the other sketcher functions and is intuitive to handle. Which radius/diameter would you set if you have concentric circles and you click between them?
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
abdullah
Posts: 3584
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby abdullah » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:18 pm

NormandC wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:41 pm
Yes, I agree the shown dimension in the 3D view should have two arrow tips.
chrisb wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:18 pm
You name it.
Like this?
Pesky_user_requirements_xD.png
Pesky_user_requirements_xD.png (25.67 KiB) Viewed 350 times
abdullah
Posts: 3584
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Feature #1632: Allow entering of diameter instead of radius for circle radius constraint

Postby abdullah » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:21 pm

dbecad wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:32 pm
As for the selection, would something like contextual mouse placement be better instead of multiplying the icons?

What I mean is switching automatically from one to the other:
- if the cursor is inside the circle use diameter
- if the cursor is outside of the circle use radius
I am not sure I understand. If I selected a circle and click on the constraint icon. How would FC know if I want radius or diameter?