Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
GeneFC
Posts: 1025
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Postby GeneFC » Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:12 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:54 pm
What's the difference between redistributing and embedding font files??? :?
I believe most embedded fonts cannot be readily extracted for further use or distribution. "Installable" fonts can be extracted for other uses apart from the original dcument.

Gene
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7145
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Postby DeepSOIC » Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:29 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:54 pm
Yet embedding is allowed.

What's the difference between redistributing and embedding font files???
I agree, it's all very confusing.


But in the end, it is user's responsibility. FreeCAD should let them do what they want, that's FOSS after all. FreeCAD can display a reminder to check font's license.

Embedding an image raises similar license questions, and we have it already.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Postby NormandC » Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:34 pm

GeneFC wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:12 pm
I believe most embedded fonts cannot be readily extracted for further use or distribution.
I wonder if it would be possible to do that here. But I don't see how, I guess anyone could simply unzip the FCStd file and copy the font contained.

DeepSOIC wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:29 pm
FreeCAD can display a reminder to check font's license.
That makes sense.
UR_
Posts: 1013
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Postby UR_ » Sun Jul 01, 2018 6:02 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:34 pm
... I guess anyone could simply unzip the FCStd file and copy the font contained.

More or less, it's the same as with other files containing embedded fonts.


https://stackoverflow.com/questions/348 ... font-files
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3138
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Postby wandererfan » Sun Jul 01, 2018 6:08 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:39 pm
wandererfan wrote:
Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:46 pm
Maybe a function to remap paths when fonts aren't found?
Do you mean to convert a ShapeString into a "dumb" set of curves, breaking the link to the font? Inkscape can do that. (On the other hand, this is already possible by using Draft Downgrade)
I was thinking directory paths. If the font isn't found, offer up a file chooser for a local alternate.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5911
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #3254 Embed font into FCSTD file for better model exchange between different systems

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:41 pm

Old-school merging topics from: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=38643
where the following posts were made and are relevant and appropriate for this discussion:
TheMarkster wrote:
Thu Aug 29, 2019 4:30 pm
The maintainers at github in charge of the project are the ones who changed it to a relative path. I had it in e:\downloads\fonts when I made the model.
tarek wrote:
Thu Aug 29, 2019 6:54 am
kisolre wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 2:29 pm
Also relative path to font file does not work under windows. I tried "assets/asimov.otf" and "./assets/asimov.otf"
Thanks for this. Interesting problem. I think at least it will work for some (I tested and it works on GNU/Linux), whereas with absolute paths it will work for none, right? Any other proposed solutions?
chrisb wrote:
Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:21 pm
Ok, so we have indeed a regression. I tested with the slightly outdated version below and it can handle a font path of the form
myFontDirectory/fontfile.ttf which uses myFontDirectory below the current directory of the FreeCAD file.
chrisb wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:02 am
The new Link objects respect relative paths to subfolders but not to the current directory :o .
wmayer wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:54 am
And how do you even use relative paths? This can only happen when you manually type in the path into the edit field while when using the browse button always an absolute path is returned.
UR_ wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 10:10 am
This kind of reediting manually is necessary if you try to move your FCStd file and corresponding stuff like tff files, which are refereed by your FCStd but are not included, to your team mate on a separate machine.
wmayer wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 10:56 am
Apparently we are talking about App::PropertyFile and not App::PropertyFileIncluded, right?
Just want to make sure we didn't lose track of this side-thread

Edit: This is all related to: issue #3254
Wrong paths to fonts occur when you exchange models between different systems. An 'Embed' option would be useful
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features