Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 4235
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:21 pm

Continuing where we left off https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 7&p=156918
How can we achieve this without creating more work for the packaging team ?

Basically, automating (using TravisCI) to generate full symbol builds for debugging is becoming more essential everyday as we have more people willing to jump in, test and debug. I recently read over on the OSE wiki that ruslan (the creator of the OSE piping WB and contributor to the Flamingo WB) was having issues debugging FC (link) He writes
rus wrote:I tried to find out how to debug FreeCAD. It just does not work :(. FreeCAD crashed. How I suppose to teach someone to program under these conditions?
If it's issues with Travis maybe we can take some of the funds we have in bountysource and purchase a monthly travisCI plan so we get access to extended build times and whatever other amenities come with that...?

We also need a better Debugging tutorial to captivate users to jump in the deep end of development. Right now we provide them with a superficial and tooth-less (no debug symbols) technique.

Paging all participants in the previous thread
sgrogan wrote:
Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:44 pm
DeepSOIC wrote:
Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:20 pm
NormandC wrote:
Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:19 pm
Jee-Bee wrote:
Wed Jan 18, 2017 2:19 pm
Related thread:
Discussion: Framework for Automating Builds (buildbot etc..)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
rus
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:37 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby rus » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:21 am

Hallo @Kunda1,

thank you for your support. I didnt know you read my frustated OSE-log :oops: .

In OSE we want to teach more people to become FreeCAD developers. A proper debugging is very important to me, because lack of it slows down the development process and makes it harder to learn and harder to teach FreeCAD development.

I have tried once more with instructions from https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.p ... =Debugging and got more information
about the issue on my computer

Code: Select all

Thread 1 "freecad" received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x00007fffedd23fcb in XML_SetHashSalt ()[/url]  
   from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libexpat.so.1
It looks like it is a known problem
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 8&start=10
I hope to finde a solution...
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 4235
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:46 pm

rus wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:21 am

Code: Select all

Thread 1 "freecad" received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x00007fffedd23fcb in XML_SetHashSalt ()[/url] Un 
   from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libexpat.so.1
Is this the expat version bug ? I think you need to downgrade expat to get this to work. I need to search the forums/tracker
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
rus
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:37 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby rus » Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:53 pm

I think, it is.

This two lines in the console crash freecad:

Code: Select all

from xml.dom import minidom
minidom.parseString("")
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 4235
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:14 pm

rus wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:53 pm
I think, it is.

This two lines in the console crash freecad:

Code: Select all

from xml.dom import minidom
minidom.parseString("")
Check out https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=29913
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
rus
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:37 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby rus » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:41 pm

IT WORKS !!! :) :)
Thank you @Kunda1!
Last edited by rus on Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rus
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:37 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby rus » Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:01 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:14 pm
Check out https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=29913
IT WORKS!!! :D :D
Thank you very much!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 4235
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Pre-built Debug Builds easier to access for testers (2nd try)

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:01 am

kkremitzki wrote:
Maybe this can be added to the buildbot idea ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features