FreeCad compared to other platforms

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
will tulyfe

FreeCad compared to other platforms

Post by will tulyfe »

Hi. I have been using FreeCad for a few months now for fun, and it has been enjoyable. It seems that all of the CAD platforms used by businesses are insanely expensive, so I am wondering if any of what I learn from FreeCAD will transfer into other platforms. Perhaps other have experience with this. Thanks.
mark1791

Re: FreeCad compared to other platforms

Post by mark1791 »

Hi will
will tulyfe wrote: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:36 am Hi. I have been using FreeCad for a few months now for fun, and it has been enjoyable. It seems that all of the CAD platforms used by businesses are insanely expensive, so I am wondering if any of what I learn from FreeCAD will transfer into other platforms. Perhaps other have experience with this. Thanks.
From a personal point, i've been using CAD for 30 odd years now in the Automotive world working on the Press tooling side, starting with CADDS4/5 from computervision through to CATIA V4/V5, of which i am using today in my real life job, using CATIA V5 to generate parametric tooling surfaces from small brackets to large monoside/bodyside tooling models. This is then exported as iges to run in Autoform FEA package to check the feasiblity of the design from the Body Department, then to check the work of suppliers through to production of pressed parts Cold or Hotstamped.