FreeCAD Trails Workbench (Transportation and Geomatics)

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Veteran
Posts: 1481
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

FreeCAD Trails Workbench (Transportation and Geomatics)

Post by HakanSeven12 »

Hi everyone. I'm a Geomatics Engineer and Joel_graff is a Transportation Engineer. We decide to create a workbench for our own needs. So this workbench is being developed to provide functionality specific to Transportation and Geomatics engineering.

I already did what I want at the beginning. So I decided to open this topic. If you have any idea, feature request or something else, I want to listen it and implement it to workbench.

You can fallow our progress from bellow links:

Patreon: Hakan Seven on Patreon

Twitter: Hakan Seven on Twitter

Source Code: Trails on GitHub

For Help: Trails GitHub Discussions

Features:
* Import Survey Data Files
* Export Point Groups to File
* Create Surface
* Edit Surface
* Create Regions
* Create Sections
* Calculate Volume Areas
* Create Volume Tables
* Create Building Pads
* Import Alignment LandXML files.

You can see what Trails can do from bellow pictures:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Last edited by HakanSeven12 on Thu May 25, 2023 6:14 am, edited 60 times in total.
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by microelly2 »

There are a lot of different methods to import geodata in my geodata workbench.
see
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6973
you can install (and contribute geodat wb) form addon manager.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by Kunda1 »

microelly2 wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:12 am There are a lot of different mehtods to impport geodata in my geodata workbench.
see
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6973
you can install (and contribute geodat wb) form addon manager.
@microelly2 That's cool, but what about the geodata not being py3 ready? doesn't that present an issue for 0.18/0.19dev users ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Veteran
Posts: 1481
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by HakanSeven12 »

microelly2 wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:12 am There are a lot of different mehtods to impport geodata in my geodata workbench.
see
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6973
you can install (and contribute geodat wb) form addon manager.
There are a lots of type of geodata files. I can easily select data columns and automaticly import my points in to a group. I continue to working on it. :)
User avatar
Joel_graff
Veteran
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by Joel_graff »

Kunda1 wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:08 pm @microelly2 That's cool, but what about the geodata not being py3 ready? doesn't that present an issue for 0.18/0.19dev users ?
I don't mind helping out porting code, if microelly wants any. I haven't tested the wb, but it does load for me - I just get the warning about an improper print statement. Of course, there could be dependency issues...
FreeCAD Trails workbench for transportation engineering: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/freecad.trails

pivy_trackers 2D coin3D library: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/pivy_trackers
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by Kunda1 »

Joel_graff wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:24 pm I don't mind helping out porting code, if microelly wants any. I haven't tested the wb, but it does load for me - I just get the warning about an improper print statement. Of course, there could be dependency issues...
https://github.com/microelly2/geodata/issues/12
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
Joel_graff
Veteran
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by Joel_graff »

Forked geodata and am working on fixing the print statement syntax. There's a lot of them...
FreeCAD Trails workbench for transportation engineering: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/freecad.trails

pivy_trackers 2D coin3D library: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/pivy_trackers
User avatar
Joel_graff
Veteran
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by Joel_graff »

https://github.com/microelly2/geodata/pull/15

First pull request. Fixes not-equal-to and print statement errors. Also discovered there are some significant dependencies that are broken in the Python2 to Python3 transition. Will keep picking away at it and sending pull requests. :)
FreeCAD Trails workbench for transportation engineering: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/freecad.trails

pivy_trackers 2D coin3D library: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/pivy_trackers
User avatar
Joel_graff
Veteran
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by Joel_graff »

Just finished adding importlib.reload imports and fixing urllib2 (which was replaced in Python3 with urllib.request).

However, when I try to run the commands, while no Python errors occur, the function does not seem to work. Not sure what's happening. Microelly will need to take a look at it and review my code changes at this point.
microelly2 wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:12 am ping
FreeCAD Trails workbench for transportation engineering: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/freecad.trails

pivy_trackers 2D coin3D library: https://www.github.com/joelgraff/pivy_trackers
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5098
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Geomatic Workbench

Post by paullee »

Thanks all for the effort :)

I have been long not able to use GeoData WB since it stop working in an AppImage version :(
Post Reply