Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Contributions from the participants, questions and answers to their projects.
Discussions of proposals for upcoming events.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by Suraj Dadral »

hardeeprai wrote: Thu Jul 11, 2019 4:19 pm
You may do following:

1. Corners bars bent at 45 degrees to side.
2. Non-corner bars bent perpendicular to side

Above mean, all bars bent towards centre (almost) of section.
To implement this, I need to do changes in core functionality of rebar addon or recreate function makeLShapeRebar()
I will discuss about this with @amrit3701

In meantime, I created function for circular column reinforcement and can be found here.

Example:

Code: Select all

from ColumnReinforcement import CircularColumn
CircularColumn.makeReinforcement(20, 20, 20, 50, 10, 16, True, 6)
Image:
CircularColumn.png
CircularColumn.png (107.23 KiB) Viewed 2778 times
CircularColumn.FCStd
(140.88 KiB) Downloaded 60 times

There is one problem in this:
When I select Host for rebars, then rebars will go out of column from bottom as in this image:
CircularColumnProblem.png
CircularColumnProblem.png (151.83 KiB) Viewed 2778 times

I am unable to identify the issue in this.

Thanks,
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by Suraj Dadral »

Suraj Dadral wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2019 5:25 am
I am unable to identify the issue in this.
The issue has been resolved :) by setting placement of line (created using draft) before creating rebars. Related code snippet:

Code: Select all

pl = FreeCAD.Placement()                                                        
pl.Rotation.Q = (0.5, 0.5, 0.5, 0.5)                                            
for points in points_list:                                                      
    line = Draft.makeWire(                                                      
        points, placement=pl, closed=False, face=True, support=None                
    )                                                                           
    rebar = Arch.makeRebar(structure, line, dia_of_straight_rebars, 1)
Related commit:
https://github.com/SurajDadral/FreeCAD- ... 631ff05cd1

Thanks,
User avatar
amrit3701
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by amrit3701 »

Suraj Dadral wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:15 am The issue has been resolved :) by setting placement of line (created using draft) before creating rebars. Related code snippet:

Code: Select all

pl = FreeCAD.Placement()                                                        
pl.Rotation.Q = (0.5, 0.5, 0.5, 0.5)                                            
for points in points_list:                                                      
    line = Draft.makeWire(                                                      
        points, placement=pl, closed=False, face=True, support=None                
    )                                                                           
    rebar = Arch.makeRebar(structure, line, dia_of_straight_rebars, 1)
Related commit:
https://github.com/SurajDadral/FreeCAD- ... 631ff05cd1
+1. Great! Today, I also tried to create rebar from draft wire manually and there I haven't seen this problem. So, I was also thinking that the issue is on your side, not the FreeCAD side.
Amritpal Singh
Github, Like my work, sponsor me!
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by Suraj Dadral »

amrit3701 wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:10 pm
+1. Great! Today, I also tried to create rebar from draft wire manually and there I haven't seen this problem. So, I was also thinking that the issue is on your side, not the FreeCAD side.
Yes, the problem was from my side.

I have created UI for circular column reinforcement. Now, user can create circular column reinforcement from ui.

Preview:
CircularColumn1.png
CircularColumn1.png (68.96 KiB) Viewed 2540 times

Please review and give your suggestions.

Thanks,
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13640
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by yorik »

Looking good!
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12849
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by bernd »

Suraj Dadral wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:33 pm
amrit3701 wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:10 pm
+1. Great! Today, I also tried to create rebar from draft wire manually and there I haven't seen this problem. So, I was also thinking that the issue is on your side, not the FreeCAD side.
Yes, the problem was from my side.

I have created UI for circular column reinforcement. Now, user can create circular column reinforcement from ui.

Preview:

CircularColumn.png


Please review and give your suggestions.

Thanks,
For normal columns this is great, but I would use it for piles too. On piles the pitch changes. Means if for example the pile is 25 meters long. Since maximum reabar lenght is 15 meters there need to be some smaller pitch in the area where the straight rebars meet around the 12.5 m.

BTW: GUI in Allplan is like yours. The changes in pitch is not possible there either.
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by Suraj Dadral »

bernd wrote: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:21 pm
For normal columns this is great, but I would use it for piles too. On piles the pitch changes. Means if for example the pile is 25 meters long. Since maximum reabar lenght is 15 meters there need to be some smaller pitch in the area where the straight rebars meet around the 12.5 m.

BTW: GUI in Allplan is like yours. The changes in pitch is not possible there either.
Thanks @bernd for your feedback.
I have added this to wish list here.
I will try implement it during gsoc period.

Thanks,
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by Suraj Dadral »

I have created function to edit circular column reinforcement. And implemented the same through ui.
Now, user can create and edit circular column reinforcement from ui.
Related PR is here: https://github.com/amrit3701/FreeCAD-Re ... nt/pull/29

Please review and give your suggestions.

Thanks,
User avatar
Suraj Dadral
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by Suraj Dadral »

hardeeprai wrote: Thu Jul 11, 2019 4:24 pm
Suraj Dadral wrote: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:21 amI also discussed this with my civil engineer friends and according to them, diameter of all ties in column is equal in 99% cases.
Take it 100%
In below image, in case of two ties column reinforcement, do we keep "Bent Angle" and "Extension Factor" of all the ties different or they will also be same?

TwoTiesColumn.png
TwoTiesColumn.png (37.56 KiB) Viewed 2466 times

Thanks,
User avatar
amrit3701
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Automate Reinforcement GSoC proposal

Post by amrit3701 »

Suraj Dadral wrote: Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:08 pm In below image, in case of two ties column reinforcement, do we keep "Bent Angle" and "Extension Factor" of all the ties different or they will also be same?
I think bent angle and extension factor should be same for all ties in the column because all ties have same diameter.
Amritpal Singh
Github, Like my work, sponsor me!
Post Reply