New user and thoughts about navigation modes

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Feuermurmel

New user and thoughts about navigation modes

Postby Feuermurmel » Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:12 pm

To begin with, I want to express my appreciation to everyone who has contributed to FreeCAD. It's worth a lot to me to be able to do some hobbyist CAD work using a project that I can realistically hope to influence or contribute to, to make it better.

I'm a complete hobbyist, I've never done CAD work professionally and have some limited experience with 3D modeling software, Cinema 4D, Modo and maybe some others I don't remember anymore. I just started toying around with FreeCAD and I have a lot of gripes with its UI I could share my experience with, but I don't want anyone who worked on this to feel like I'm not valuing their work. I'm trying to concentrate on those issues I think could improve the experience I've had so far the most. I'll focus on 2D and 3D navigation here.

I've found that none of the navigation modes work for me. I can make it work with an external mouse but I never use one on my laptop. I use a MacBook Pro with one of those trackpads that don't have separate buttons. I really like it and feel comfortable using it for hours at a time but it does have some limitations input-wise. E.g. there's no middle-click, there's a right-click, but it is impossible to combine with left-click and dragging with right-click is very awkward.

So the OpenInventor, CAD, Revit, Blender, MayaGesture, Gesture and OpenCascade are all out of the race for me right from the start. I was unable to use any of those to both rotate and pan the view. This leaves only the Touchpad mode. But that mode feels very unnatural to me.