Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby jruiz » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:32 pm

Suppose a sketcth S is made on a face of certain body B , then the revolution of S, say R , is made so that R be into B.
Wouldn't it be nice to have a tool for getting the "pocket" P resulting from P = B -R?
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7041
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby DeepSOIC » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:34 pm

Doesn't Groove do it?
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby jruiz » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:45 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:34 pm
Doesn't Groove do it?
Exactly.
For some unknown reason, groove was not working in my freecad, but now it is.
How could I delete my question?
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7041
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby DeepSOIC » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:51 pm

jruiz wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:45 pm
How could I delete my question?
Don't worry, it will just get buried with time, rather quickly actually.
You can edit the title to insert [Solved] or something, by editing the first post.
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby jruiz » Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:38 am

DeepSOIC wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:51 pm
jruiz wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:45 pm
How could I delete my question?
Don't worry, it will just get buried with time, rather quickly actually.
You can edit the title to insert [Solved] or something, by editing the first post.
Thanks a lot.
By the way, in the FC version I am using, groove does not appear automatically when selecting it (as it does when, for example, revolution is applied) The axis has to be (re)selected for groove to take place. Is it a micro bug?

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.3.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7041
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby DeepSOIC » Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:53 am

jruiz wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:38 am
The axis has to be (re)selected for groove to take place. Is it a micro bug?
Maybe. Please post a step-by-step guide to reproduce, then. Preferably, just a file, where one can click "Groove" and observe the lack of one.
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby jruiz » Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:38 am

  1. Create a body,
  2. Sketch a rectangle.
  3. Pad the sketch.
  4. Select a face of the pad make a second sketch on it: a vertical straight segment with a arc forming a "D"
  5. Place the segment on the vertical axis.
  6. Close the sketch.
  7. On task tab, select Groove.
Following these steps I get just a circle on the face of the sketch until I pres on (Axis) "Vertical sketch axis" and select any of the options, including "Vertical sketch axis", from here the groove is shown.
Attachments
noGroove.png
noGroove.png (125.48 KiB) Viewed 219 times
readyGroove.png
readyGroove.png (131.35 KiB) Viewed 219 times
kisolre
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby kisolre » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:10 am

I had seen similar even with recent 0.19 but it was no bother because usually I just select different axis anyway and confirm.
chrisb
Posts: 18834
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby chrisb » Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:31 am

DeepSOIC asked for a file, although the step by step description is not difficult. Please consider that everyone who wants to take part in the discussion has to go through it, which is in fact a waste of time, so I attach my file here.

- load file
- select Sketch001
- click the groove icon

Here it works well, the screenshot was made directly after the click on the groove tool. Please retry with a current 0.19 version. Since new versions contain not only new things but also many bug fixes. You should always check if the bug is already removed in the current version.
Bildschirmfoto 2019-08-25 um 08.23.33.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-08-25 um 08.23.33.png (18.8 KiB) Viewed 198 times
-

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17798 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7e60631239109c632a8f6cca83f6e7e5502e43a1
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
Attachments
groove.FCStd
(8.79 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Feature Request: Substractive Revolution.

Postby jruiz » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:32 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:53 am
jruiz wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:38 am
The axis has to be (re)selected for groove to take place. Is it a micro bug?
Maybe. Please post a step-by-step guide to reproduce, then. Preferably, just a file, where one can click "Groove" and observe the lack of one.
MIcro bug?
  1. Load grooveF.FCStd
  2. Select Sketch001
  3. On Tasks tab, click on Groove. (you'll see just a a circle, even though Vertical sketch axis is selected by default)
  4. Select an axis or press Ok and then the groove will appear.
Attachments
grooveF.FCStd
(12.03 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Last edited by jruiz on Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.