Feature Request: Sketcher Copy Carbon with Offsets.

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Feature Request: Sketcher Copy Carbon with Offsets.

Postby jruiz » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:21 pm

What do think about having the option of setting offsets to sketcher copy carbon?
openBrain
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Feature Request: Sketcher Copy Carbon with Offsets.

Postby openBrain » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:39 pm

I think you should consider existing topics. :P
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39269
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Feature Request: Sketcher Copy Carbon with Offsets.

Postby jruiz » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:55 pm

openBrain wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:39 pm
I think you should consider existing topics. :P
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39269
Indeed, my request seems to be (almost) the same as that of GlouGlou.

But It seems to me too that what GlouGlou is requesting in
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=39269
and what is set in
https://freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=3708
is not the same thing.
Or is it?
openBrain
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Feature Request: Sketcher Copy Carbon with Offsets.

Postby openBrain » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:02 pm

For me that's the same. For others this isn't. And I can't prove I'm right. :)
However as I said in the other discussion, the main coding effort is to get offset curves to work. Then that the source is same sketch or another will be IMO quite simple.
So I encourage you to continue on the topic I pointed (as it is officially linked to the ticket) to add and eventually discuss your variant. ;)
jruiz
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Feature Request: Sketcher Copy Carbon with Offsets.

Postby jruiz » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:25 pm

openBrain wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:02 pm
For me that's the same. For others this isn't. And I can't prove I'm right. :)
However as I said in the other discussion, the main coding effort is to get offset curves to work. Then that the source is same sketch or another will be IMO quite simple.
So I encourage you to continue on the topic I pointed (as it is officially linked to the ticket) to add and eventually discuss your variant. ;)
Ok. I'll do it.
Regards.