[Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog or About FreeCAD dialog?

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5946
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

[Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog or About FreeCAD dialog?

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:06 am

Right now, AFAICT, there is not shortcut that opens the Preferences Editor
I vote that the shortcut key:
Ctrl + /
be assigned to that operation.

Thoughts ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
kisolre
Posts: 1361
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby kisolre » Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:36 am

Mhy do we need a shortcut for this? I open it about once a month so shortcut will not help anyway. Once you tune your preferences you rarely need to change something.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5946
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:20 am

kisolre wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:36 am
Mhy do we need a shortcut for this? I open it about once a month so shortcut will not help anyway. Once you tune your preferences you rarely need to change something.
I've encountered many applications that actually assign a keyboard shortcut to open up their preferences. It's also something that's very common on MacOS.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
chrisb
Posts: 19721
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:06 am

kisolre wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 6:36 am
Why do we need a shortcut for this? I open it about once a month so shortcut will not help anyway. Once you tune your preferences you rarely need to change something.
+1

I am really a keyboard fan, and I know the situation where I fiddle with the preferences many times a day, but usually it is really rarely used.
Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:20 am
It's also something that's very common on MacOS.
The shortcut on MacOS is usually "CMD+," Using something different seems to cause more confusion than having no shortcut at all.
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby Jee-Bee » Mon Oct 07, 2019 8:19 am

+1 for shortcut.
Specially if it is cmd+, OR ctrl+,
chrisb
Posts: 19721
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 07, 2019 9:04 am

Because it is easy to misread, I want to clarify: on MacOS the shortcut is CMD_key and additionally KOMMA_key.
kisolre
Posts: 1361
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby kisolre » Mon Oct 07, 2019 9:48 am

Can you press those with one hand under MacOS?
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15000
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby wmayer » Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:14 am

Everybody can assign a shortcut (via the Customize command) to the function if desired.
chrisb
Posts: 19721
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:18 am

kisolre wrote:
Mon Oct 07, 2019 9:48 am
Can you press those with one hand under MacOS?
On my keyboard: Yes. I don't know if that is the default on Mac keyboards, but I have a CMD key on both sides of the SPACE. My keyboard is small enough (or my hands are so huge) that I can reach from the left CMD key to the PLUS key on the right.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15000
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: [Request for Comment] Assigning Ctrl+/ to open the Preference Dialog

Postby wmayer » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:04 am

Qt offers the class QKeySequence that defines platform-dependent short cuts:

Code: Select all

from PySide import QtGui
ks=QtGui.QKeySequence(QtGui.QKeySequence.Preferences)
ks.toString()
ks.isEmpty()
However, on Windows it doesn't set a short cut. Can anyone test on macOS or Linux?