When to choose Part Design WB or Part WB?

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
drmacro

When to choose Part Design WB or Part WB?

Postby drmacro » Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:31 pm

I've been using FC for a number of years, to the point that using the Part Design or Part workbenches is pretty much a reflex action. I mostly use Part Design WB because I guess I think more like it does. But, using Part WB is ok when I need to. (Still have to really concentrate to get a line in 3d space for a sweep path...and I've been doing 3D stuff for 40 years or more. :oops: :lol: )

My question here is what thoughts others have about, when coaching new users, what is the thought process to select using one or the other for a particular design.

I realize there are a lot of factors, level of users experience, required functionality only available in one or the other, etc.

Is there a rule of thumb?

:?:
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
dxp.dev

Re: When to choose Part Design WB or Part WB?

Postby dxp.dev » Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:42 pm

The result is different as data structure (and for Assembly 4 it changes the workflow) :
Zolko wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:20 pm

be careful: PartDesign WB doesn't produce Parts, it produces Bodies. It is entirely possible to use Parts made with the Part WB with Assembly4, but if you want to use Bodies made with the PartDesign WB you need first to create a Part and move the Body into that Part.
Imperial system makes no sense, go metric ! ! !
vocx

Postby vocx » Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:20 pm

drmacro wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:31 pm
My question here is what thoughts others have about, when coaching new users, what is the thought process to select using one or the other for a particular design.