Laptop Specification

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Dreadnought

Laptop Specification

Post by Dreadnought »

Good Morning all, I've decided to teach myself 3D CAD and have been recommended FreeCAD to get going with. My day job is Engineering and being a Professional Engineer I'm well used to 2D CAD (AutoCAD) however, this is becoming limiting and the younger generation are all modelling using 3D and I want to explore 3D CAD to better understand what is possible and to design parts (modifying old motorcycles) for manufacture.

So the first problem is that my laptop seems to be a whimp, and I'm firstly wondering if its base specification is worth updating to run FreeCAD or if I need to invest in a professional CAD Laptop? I'm running an AMD A9 processor with 8mb of RAM and a AMD Radeon R5 Graphics adaptor. I'm guessing that 32gb of RAM would help and perhaps a better graphic card but I'm not too sure what I can / should aim for, therefore, any help would be appreciated as I'm out of touch with PC specs as I find off the shelf if I buy a new one every two years or so they do 99% of what I want.

Many thanks
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Laptop Specification

Post by chrisb »

FreeCAD is not very demanding as far as hardware is concerned. Just give it a try, and if it's too slow by something with a fast CPU and I recommend SSD harddrive. The GPU must be OpenGL compatible.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Dreadnought

Post by Dreadnought »

Hi,
Many thanks for this, I guess I'm too green to use the software then, looks like back to the tutorials

Cheers
openBrain
Veteran

Post by openBrain »

Dreadnought wrote: Tue May 12, 2020 10:12 am with 8mb of RAM
Guess it's 8GB actually. :)