How to do an audit, model to model? Maybe a WB

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
freedman
Veteran

How to do an audit, model to model? Maybe a WB

Post by freedman »

During my design I often save the model to increasing numbered file names, an old habit from prior CAD systems that crashed at least once a day :) . So now I am up to model_80 and Model_81 in a directory, I made changes to model_81 and would really like to know the one change I made is the only change FreeCAD made :). The cause of an error could be topo-errors or human errors or program errors. This model has 40 bodies inside multiple part containers, it's complicated and I would like some verification or an audit of the model compared to an earlier version. As a modeler I have a pretty good idea of the progression over the last month and I also know that cap1 (a small piece) was finished way back at model_10, I would sure like to verify model_81 against model_10 and see what an audit says.

Currently I can't keep Shape binders or external geo in my model because I'm afraid they could do something (behind the scenes) that I don't know about. When your purchasing parts that are CAD generated you need some guarantees that your current model is what you think it is. I do trust Sketcher and the model generation process but not parametrics, not today, there's the old adage "trust but verify". I don't want to loose a job because of an unknown parametric change.

How do we do this?
Maybe a new workbench.
Could we do something today with a simple copy?
Is it just a process that runs thru the list of objects and compares vertex and lines.
Thanks

All input welcome...
Zolko
Veteran

Re: How to do an audit, model to model? Maybe a WB

Post by Zolko »