3D House from Images (Plans): Best Strategy?

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Peter_D

3D House from Images (Plans): Best Strategy?

Post by Peter_D »

I have the construction plans of a house with 12 apartments and I would like to create a 3D model from them. In particular, the water and sewage pipes are to be drawn in here later.
The plans (jpg) are of poor quality and have to be drawn again. After importing the jpg-plans can be used as a template.
I have some experience in LibreCAD, Blender and now also in FreeCAD.

My question: What is the best way to achieve the goal mentioned above?

• Import the construction plans to FreeCAD-BIM to create the drawings?
  • Should I better use Draft, TechDraw or Arch? Unfortunately, I do not have an overview yet to select the most suitable workbench.
  • Since FreeCAD is better able to work with few objects, it would probably be best to draw the small objects in LibreCAD and integrate them as 2D in FreeCAD.
I would be very grateful for any advice in this regard.

Many greetings
Peter
bitacovir
Veteran

Re: 3D House from Images (Plans): Best Strategy?

Post by bitacovir »

Peter_D wrote: Fri May 22, 2020 11:30 am My question: What is the best way to achieve the goal mentioned above?

• Should I better use Draft, TechDraw or Arch? Unfortunately, I do not have an overview yet to select the most suitable workbench.
  • Since FreeCAD is better able to work with few objects, it would probably be best to draw the small objects in LibreCAD and integrate them as 2D in FreeCAD.
Welcome.
My recomendations:
Don't worry about BIM workbench, yet. Arch WB has all the modelling tools that you need. BIM WB is almost the same with additional management features for BIM industry workflows. But if you want, you can install it with Addon Manager. There is not conflict.