How often does FreeCAD crash

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
martin51

How often does FreeCAD crash

Post by martin51 »

I'm a CAD newbie but I'm enjoying using FreeCAD and starting to appreciate the power of parametric modeling. I realize FreeCAD is still early in its development but I'm wondering how often other users experience a crash as pretty much every session I have ends that way. I'm guessing it could be something I'm doing, something unique to my system, or something everyone experiences. Any thoughts?

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16146 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.4)
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
vocx
Veteran

Re: How often does FreeCAD crash

Post by vocx »

martin51 wrote: Tue May 26, 2020 2:46 am ... Any thoughts?
It doesn't crash a lot if you don't use a lot of boolean operations. Boolean operations come from the internal OCCT libraries; these are things like fillets and dress-up operations. If you constantly apply these things, and then go back, and delete previous features, and apply again, you may find yourself in some inconsistent states.

The reason is OCCT doesn't like some operations like booleans with coplanar faces, or tangent edges from different bodies. So, in this cases it may return errors. Ideally FreeCAD should "trap" those errors and not let the program actually crash, but occasionally these problems escape detection.