3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
RainmanNoodles
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:43 pm

3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby RainmanNoodles » Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:26 am

I have a 3DConnexion SpaceMouse Enterprise. Pressing any of the buttons (including the menu button) causes FreeCAD's 3D view to rotate and zoom out (dramatically).

For example, working on a small part, the view size in the lower right showed 166.07 mm x 88.17 mm, and the view was a Top view (X right, Y up). Pressing the 3D mouse's "fit" button ONCE left the dimensions of the view at 26.85 m x 14.26 m (zoomed out a lot!) and rotated to a strange angle. After pressing the button a second time, the view dimension were 2898.57 m x 1538.98 m. It does this each time the button is pressed, so in this example after 12 more presses, the view was so far zoomed out that it showed inf mm x inf mm.

I've of course gone to "Tools -> Customize -> Spaceball Buttons" and set the buttons to have some actions. For one test, I tried setting the "FIT" button to perform the "Zoom to fit" action. Pressing this button does trigger a zoom to fit - for a fraction of a second before the same thing happens to the view as described above. This at least prevents it from zooming out infinitely but the problem is still there.

How can this be resolved?
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 am

Please always post your About info when asking for assistance. Thank you.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
RainmanNoodles
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby RainmanNoodles » Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:11 pm

About info:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:05 am

Please install v0.19, try to reproduce and report back.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
RainmanNoodles
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby RainmanNoodles » Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:18 am

I tried 0.19 and had the exact same issue.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:23 am

RainmanNoodles wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:18 am
I tried 0.19 and had the exact same issue.
please always post your About info when asking for assistance.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:26 am

What Mouse Model are you using (lower right corner)
see for example: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=50690
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
RainmanNoodles
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby RainmanNoodles » Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:02 pm

I'm using the CAD mouse model with Trackball orbit style, but I tried with every option available and the bug occurs for every one. The mouse model does not appear to be relevant for 3D mice anyway - it should only affect the mappings and motion for 2D mice and trackpads.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9223
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:24 pm

RainmanNoodles wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:02 pm
I'm using the CAD mouse model with Trackball orbit style, but I tried with every option available and the bug occurs for every one. The mouse model does not appear to be relevant for 3D mice anyway - it should only affect the mappings and motion for 2D mice and trackpads.
There is a thread where some devs participate in regarding spacemouse issues. It would be a good idea to x-post to there then:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9198
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
RainmanNoodles
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse - pressing ANY button dramatically zooms out and rotates the view

Postby RainmanNoodles » Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:42 pm

I just crossposted there. We'll see if anyone picks up on it...

I've also noticed that if I try to program certain buttons, FreeCAD just displays "Out Of Range" for the button's name... I'm starting to get the feeling that FreeCAD just has a lot of bugs. :D