Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
peterl94
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby peterl94 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:00 am

Hey guys,

I was working on a project that required filleting the inside edges of a lot of pockets. I got quite annoyed because I had to click very precisely to be able to select the edges. So anyways, it would be really great if selecting edges of a concave areas was easier.

After doing a quick code search and a little experimenting, I found a really easy way to achieve this: In the function SoFCUnifiedSelection::getPickedPoint change the tolerance of the intersection points comparison to 1. So would you consider this change, or is there a better way?

Thanks,
Peter
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby NormandC » Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:37 am

Hello Peter,

I'm all for it!

I think it would be best if you created a bug report on Mantis. The forum is great for discussion, but subjects tend to be forgotten quickly. http://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/
peterl94
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby peterl94 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:22 am

User avatar
jriegel
Site Admin
Posts: 3369
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: Ulm, Germany
Contact:

Re: Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby jriegel » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:23 am

you can also select the bottom face of the pocket and all the edges get filleted....
Stop whining - start coding!
peterl94
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby peterl94 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:08 pm

Yes, certainly, but in my case I wanted the top edges of the pocket to have a different fillet radius, so I had to select the corner edges separately.
User avatar
jriegel
Site Admin
Posts: 3369
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: Ulm, Germany
Contact:

Re: Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby jriegel » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:36 pm

Unfortunaltely its not that ease. Since you have the problem that in some areas are a lot of possible selections and increasing the tolerance can have a negative effect. It can mean you can only select the faces...
But that is just a guess. We have to experiment...
Stop whining - start coding!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7094
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Increase the tolerance for selecting edges

Postby Kunda1 » Mon May 22, 2017 1:40 pm

This feature would be a sweet present to have in 0.17
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features