GUI under Part, 3D and 2D offset under a same menu

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
david69
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:48 pm

GUI under Part, 3D and 2D offset under a same menu

Postby david69 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:27 pm

under Part workbench, we have two tools: 3D and 2D offset.
https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Part_CompOffsetTools

why not to put them under a common menu Offset?
Part -> Offset -> 2D offset and 3D offset.
b.png
b.png (80.59 KiB) Viewed 182 times
drmacro
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: GUI under Part, 3D and 2D offset under a same menu

Postby drmacro » Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:41 pm

Geez, seems that the way I have it... :mrgreen:
Snip macro screenshot-20c711.png
Snip macro screenshot-20c711.png (90.68 KiB) Viewed 169 times

amazing what you can do to customize your by using the Tools>Customize
Snip macro screenshot-1407ae.png
Snip macro screenshot-1407ae.png (138.34 KiB) Viewed 169 times
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
david69
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: GUI under Part, 3D and 2D offset under a same menu

Postby david69 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 2:25 pm

thanks for the capability to customize.
it's a bit puzzling because we have button on the GUI collecting the two options, so why not to extend this to the menu?
and it will be helpfull too for the wiki.
drmacro
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: GUI under Part, 3D and 2D offset under a same menu

Postby drmacro » Wed Apr 14, 2021 3:28 pm

You mean from the Part menu?
OffsetMenu-annot.png
OffsetMenu-annot.png (84.09 KiB) Viewed 134 times
🤔
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
david69
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: GUI under Part, 3D and 2D offset under a same menu

Postby david69 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 4:41 pm

I mean the GUI is already doing it
c.png
c.png (18.93 KiB) Viewed 106 times
why not the menu?

my initial post was showing a mock-up.