Civil Engineering Design functions

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
multipluton

Civil Engineering Design functions

Post by multipluton »

Road geometry and topology and terrain model functions should be a very welcomed part in FreeCAD. There is as well a huge need of localisation and custom fittings always for the civil objects and geometry rules so I believe the FreeCAD platform could be ideal and interesting for many to contribute. If anybody interested and want to contribute with input and ideas please reply to this post and we can try to start work out some input descriptions and contributions of code or formulas as a start.
yorik
Founder

Re: Civil Engineering Design functions

Post by yorik »

Hi,
Interesting... I'm not very familiar with civil engineering for roads (I'm an architect), but interested anyway. Can you elaborate a bit what is a typical workflow, and what kind of tools are needed? What software do you currently use for that?
sanzo

Post by sanzo »

It seems that this discussion was not that popular... Let me try put some information.
I'm currently working in a Civil Engineering Firm that is trying to bring BIM concepts into Infrastructure design. When I was hired they already choose the Autodesk ecosystem (Civil3D, Revit, Autocad, Navisworks) and now I'm trying to put the pieces together via excel and Revit macros. I'm a Architect/building engineer and I'm learning day after day what are the requirements of Civil engineers.
So far I saw the following tasks: