Release discussion 0.15

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby shoogen » Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:56 pm

I think we have to talk about issue #1852
I assume that you will not rename the python exceptions in the foreseeable future.

IMHO issue #1926 an OCCT bug , unfixable from FreeCAD perspective.
Last edited by shoogen on Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: removed the word "workaround"
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15732
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby wmayer » Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:47 pm

I assume that you will not rename the python exceptions in the foreseeable future.
Not for the release.This can be done later at any time.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby yorik » Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:17 pm

I don't think we should care too much about these issues... After all, all projects make releases with some bugs unfixed... And AFAICS none is really critical in the sense that it prevents you from using FreeCAD. We could maybe make a list of the most annoying ones and notify about them in the release notes
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15732
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby wmayer » Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:02 pm

But the severity should be adjusted then. 1676 and 1776 can be downgraded to 'major'. 1647 should be rechecked. 1831 can stay but this isn't something that can be fixed any time soon.
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby shoogen » Sun Jan 25, 2015 1:38 pm

wmayer wrote:
I assume that you will not rename the python exceptions in the foreseeable future.
Not for the release.This can be done later at any time.
Is this just a branding issue? Like the base execption should be called "FancyCAD.Base.AppError" instead of "FancyCAD.Base.FreeCADError"
jreinhardt
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 6:08 pm

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby jreinhardt » Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:25 am

wmayer wrote: So, what do you think about a feature freeze for end of January? Then after a test phase of a few weeks we can do the final release in end of February.
So it would make sense to brush up the translations now, wouldn't it. If I read the crowdin logs correctly, yorik has uploaded strings already two weeks ago.

The Finns and Braziliens are already done. But then there are quite a few languages in the seventy and eighty percent regions that might be able to fully catch up, I will list them here for publicity:

Chinese Traditional: 77%
Czech: 70%
English: 81% (I don't understand that one)
French: 91%
German: 81%
Italian: 80%
Japanese: 87%
Polish: 81%
Portuguese: 79%
Romanian: 71%
Russian: 74%
Spanish: 92%

So if you speak any of these languages, get going! Translations are done on crowdin (registration required):

https://crowdin.com/project/freecad
BOLTS, standard parts library for FreeCAD Thread, Help with Translation
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby yorik » Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:26 pm

I'll post about this on FB and G+ too...
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby shoogen » Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:27 pm

I got a pull request solely for the release branch.

git://github.com/5263/FreeCAD bugfix-drawingarcs

as discussed at viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9670&p=78516#p78483
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby shoogen » Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:34 pm

Yorik,
I've got another trivial branch lying around. I suppose that I's possible to open a file with Draft Elements without loading the full Draft Workbench and thous not registering the GUI commands. I would suggest to integrate in the 0.15 release since it doesn't harm if DraftTools was imported before.

Code: Select all

diff --git a/src/Mod/Draft/Draft.py b/src/Mod/Draft/Draft.py
index 68cb516..e54343a 100644
--- a/src/Mod/Draft/Draft.py
+++ b/src/Mod/Draft/Draft.py
@@ -3198,6 +3198,7 @@ class _ViewProviderDraft:
         return
 
     def setEdit(self,vobj,mode=0):
+        import DraftTools
         FreeCADGui.runCommand("Draft_Edit")
         return True
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15732
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Release discussion 0.15

Postby wmayer » Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:02 pm

I've got another trivial branch lying around. I suppose that I's possible to open a file with Draft Elements without loading the full Draft Workbench and thous not registering the GUI commands. I would suggest to integrate in the 0.15 release since it doesn't harm if DraftTools was imported before.
Not sure what this is supposed to fix but when I e.g. import a dxf file while I am in PartDesign there always appear the "Draft tray" toolbar which is slightly annoying. With your change this toolbar still appears.