Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
ProBowlUk
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: Reading UK

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby ProBowlUk » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:56 am

Hi

After several uninstalls and re-loadings, I have learnt that version 0.15 is definitely Stand-Alone.

I then left v0.14 where it was and just created a FreeCAD 0.15 folder (mine went into C\Temp\)
The FC development 7z file was simply unzipped into that.

You can create a shortcut (maybe in Desktop) for 0.15 FreeCAD.exe, but it will not automatically open .FCSTD files (like with the installed v0.14, where file associations are set up in the Registry).

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.15.4346 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: e329cb5c3acd5b170359e0e8cd28d98b61be935d
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1
peterl94
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby peterl94 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:03 pm

If you want to, you can manually associate any FreeCAD.exe with .FCStd files, by right clicking on one and then clicking "Open with..." and "Browse..."
User avatar
ProBowlUk
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: Reading UK

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby ProBowlUk » Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:46 pm

peterl94 wrote:If you want to, you can manually associate any FreeCAD.exe with .FCStd files, by right clicking on one and then clicking "Open with..." and "Browse..."
Would that not clash with the Windows installed FreeCAD 0.14 _ ?

cheers :mrgreen: _ :?
peterl94
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby peterl94 » Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:47 am

You are right, I just tried associating .fcstd files with a snapshot build, and windows wouldn't let me select it since the name of the exe is the same.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14896
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby wmayer » Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:53 am

If it helps then you can create a shortcut on the desktop for the 0.15 version and then drag and drop .fcstd files onto the shortcut.
mario52
Posts: 2674
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby mario52 » Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:09 am

hi ProBowlUk
use this method work perfectly

1 : viewtopic.php?f=8&t=8726&start=60#p73944 (if you want to return to your old installation)

2 : viewtopic.php?f=8&t=8726&start=60#p73919

and you do not move to the association whit FreeCAD and your preference (if you have mod supplementary you must copy in)

OS: Windows Vista
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.15.4415 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: ab24e9df6a16db8c87aea1f7b768e70529ff8d82
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby efyx » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:54 pm

Hi, thanks for help, it works :) ! But 0.15 dev version doesn't have assembly module (icon doesn't response) and also no drawing dimensioning is available. Is this still not implemented?

Is in FreeCAD any option of creating variants of part to use them further in assembly module? I thought that I could prepare piping in variant's which could be used in further piping module.. but I need to know is that possible.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5425
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby sgrogan » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:42 pm

@efyx

The assembly workbench is still not functional.

User hamish offers a drawing dimensioning workbench. You will need to add your self, it is worth it. It is a quite impressive piece of work.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8395&start=30
jmaustpc
Posts: 9566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby jmaustpc » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:23 am

efyx wrote:Hi, thanks for help, it works :) ! But 0.15 dev version doesn't have assembly module (icon doesn't response) and also no drawing dimensioning is available. Is this still not implemented?
Assembly is in a separate development branch that may be pushed into master after 0.15 is finalised or maybe later. It brings a lot of changes and some compatibility issues. You can still assemble things in standard FreeCAD versions but only manually i.e. not with something like constraints. You can move shapes around with Draft Move and snapping, but it is not parametric.

Drawing dimensions are available in master and have been for a long time, but they work from Draft dimensions. You create a Draft dimension in the 3d model window and then click on the "toDrawing" icon in the Draft WB tool bar, and it is placed in the Drawing. These dimensions auto update in the drawing if changed in the main window. The dimensions can be linked to geometry, e.g. linked to an edge and then change along with any change to that edge. The new drawing WB upgrade that MrLukeparry is writing will allow direct editing and creation of dimension in Drawing WB.
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4414
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby microelly2 » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:12 pm

I had a problem with the drawing dimensioning workbench and the developer binaries win32 : * numpy multiarray *

http://sourceforge.net/projects/free-ca ... velopment/

After update numpy to 1.9.1 it works for me on win 32 too.
I have replaced the bin/lib/side-apachet/numpy dir by the newer version.

Can this become actualized in the actual package (and the libpack for win32)?

thanks.