Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
ektus
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby ektus » Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:54 pm

Testing the x86 version on my x64 system works better, but still gives errors:
Python_conflict.png
Python_conflict.png (22.78 KiB) Viewed 1548 times
The space mouse isn't working, either.


Regards
Ektus.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.15.4283 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: d8722070b819af0a9ad0a2efc138a3e7decec33e
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1
User avatar
TT-RS
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:19 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby TT-RS » Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:28 pm

Very good idea with this snapshots.

As this are snapshots of unstable releases, it would be nice to have workbenches and functionalities that are still not ready to use (and not present in stable releases), for example assembly or animation workbenches. This would give opportunity to better test those modules, as I think, there are more Windows than Linux users (I might be wrong here).

For me it works "not bad". I tested both x86 on Vista and x64 on 8.1. I have small errors sometimes and can't open FEM workbench. Sometimes FC freeze for few seconds, but you can work with it, it is good enough.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5585
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby sgrogan » Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:27 pm

wmayer wrote: The reason for the failure is the missing file VCOMP120.DLL. No idea how this is possible because the file is supposed to be part of the re-distributable.
@wmayer, thanks for testing and troubleshooting. The VCOMP120.DLL is indeed present on the (non-build) system that I used for testing. It was already present as I didn't have to install the VS2013 redistributable.
Were you able to install the missing .DLL and did it fix the problem workbenches?
microelly2 wrote:Runnning without the libpack
error in testcase 38/39

The fem module raises the dll error
@ microelly, I was able to reproduce this on another XP machine. I must have some residual FreeCAD on the test machine that FreeCAD finds. I will investigate this this evening.

Does anyone have any idea how ektus's x86 test is finding the old version of python(2.6). The new libs use 2.7. Could there be anything left over in the .cfg file from previous installations?

Thanks everyone for testing and providing feed back. Has anyone besides me had either version pass the unit test?
User avatar
ektus
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby ektus » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:42 pm

In the windows installer of 0.14, there is an option to publish the FreeCAD python to the system. Environment variable or registry key, I don't know, but that one would then point to the 0.14 installation (or an even older one) and might confuse things.

I've got several versions of vcomp on my system, see attached screenshot. vcomp120 is among them and is located in system32, so should be found.
vcomp_locations.png
vcomp_locations.png (177.08 KiB) Viewed 1429 times
Regards
Ektus.
peterl94
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby peterl94 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 1:07 am

sgrogan wrote:Has anyone besides me had either version pass the unit test?
Yeah, both of the 64-bit builds you have done worked fine for me. I just tried the 32-bit one now, and I see that the missing dll reported by the fem module is pthreadVC2.dll.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5585
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby sgrogan » Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:58 am

peterl94 wrote: I see that the missing dll reported by the fem module is pthreadVC2.dll.
Thanks Peter, I have updated the 7zip for the x86 build on the above link.

@microelley2
You do not need to re-download. Could you please copy the pthreadVC2.dll from the libpack to the bin directory of the extracted 7zip and see if this fixes the problem. I don't have access right now to the test XP machine. Thanks
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4560
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby microelly2 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:57 am

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.15.4283 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: d8722070b819af0a9ad0a2efc138a3e7decec33e
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a

it works :D :D :D


EDIT
OS: Windows XP
Word size of OS: 32-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.15.4283 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: d8722070b819af0a9ad0a2efc138a3e7decec33e
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1

it works too. :D

@sgrogan: If you make the next new built, can you do it with freetype support to get nice letters (String Shapes) in Draft?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5585
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby sgrogan » Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:37 pm

Thanks microelley2, that is good news.

Next build I will add Freetype support. I didn't realize until you mentioned that it was not the default in Cmake.
peterl94
Posts: 1000
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby peterl94 » Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:50 am

Can you guys try these builds? FreeCAD 0.15 development For anyone whose interested, they were created with this script: FCAutoBuild.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Unofficial Window X64 and X32 Development Snapshots

Postby NormandC » Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:21 am

Cool!

Out of curiosity, and for the benefit of Windows users, how is it used? You decompress then launch FreeCAD.exe in /bin? What is "assistant.exe" for?

The archives are much smaller than the current stable installers.

I don't have a Windows VM on hand ATM.