Freecad Logo design suggestion

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Mikeo

Freecad Logo design suggestion

Post by Mikeo »

Hello everyone,

I started learning freecad recently and was impressed with the functionality and flexibility of this open source software.
Thank you very much for all the work done!

I'm particularly interested in using it for parametric design. While working with parametric graphics i had a play with a Freecad logo trying to open up the idea of parametric design in the gears symbol used for Freecad logo.

I'm a professional graphic and you designer based in London, that would like to contribute to open source software by improving it's design. I run this projects http://opendesignschool.co.uk/

I'm not sure where to post this and where is the best place to make design suggestions, so I'll just post some design drafts of the logo design here, and will wait for your feedback!
Attachments
suggestions for logo design that would reflect more parametric nature of the software
suggestions for logo design that would reflect more parametric nature of the software
freecad_logo_versions.png (124.61 KiB) Viewed 5020 times
r-frank
Veteran

Re: Freecad Logo design suggestion

Post by r-frank »

Hello mikeo.

Welcome to FreeCAD and its community.

Thanks for your efforts and your intersting suggestions for a FreeCAD Logo.

I have to admit that i am a person with not-so-much artistic skills (that's one of the reasons
i became a mechanical engineer).

For me the gear should look like a gear.
From top to bottom the gear looks more and more like a snowflake :mrgreen:
So IMHO in the first row we have a look of the gear symbol i find quite realistic (and i like most).

But i am also quite fond of (= I like) the basic style of the two Logo's in the 5th row (except of the look of the gear symbol).