Manipulator WorkBench

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:53 pm

miniellipse wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:42 pm
the Manipulator WB is great....but has anyone noticed strange 'undo' behavior? After an alignment operation, when i CNTRL-Z to undo, it moves the wrong part back. For example, I align B to A. Then do 'undo.' It seems A goes to B's location???

Manipulator WB version 1.6.3. Fcad details:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13515 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: e17b340949b75a226cc7d89989b0aa238ccfc75f
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Hi,
you should use the Undo button of the Aligner... Placement are not taken in count by FC as they are not if you use the Transform tool, so CTRL+Z will not work.
undo.png
undo.png (22.51 KiB) Viewed 454 times
User avatar
miniellipse
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:09 pm

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby miniellipse » Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:20 pm

Ah.... I was too smart for my own good. Thank you! :D
easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:53 pm
miniellipse wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:42 pm
the Manipulator WB is great....but has anyone noticed strange 'undo' behavior? After an alignment operation, when i CNTRL-Z to undo, it moves the wrong part back. For example, I align B to A. Then do 'undo.' It seems A goes to B's location???

Manipulator WB version 1.6.3. Fcad details:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13515 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: e17b340949b75a226cc7d89989b0aa238ccfc75f
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Hi,
you should use the Undo button of the Aligner... Placement are not taken in count by FC as they are not if you use the Transform tool, so CTRL+Z will not work.
undo.png
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5068
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:09 am

Hi Maurice,
please let me tell you how helpful I find your manipulator workbench.
Calipper is so great for measuring dimensions, radius and angles.

In my daily work I often use the Align-Tools to place shapegroups from merged project.
After exploring the functionality, I find it very assistant.
I like to align first two faces in one direction, then deselect this direction and align on two points in the other two directions.
That is fast, precise and easy.

Thank you so much for your great work.

Best regards
Wilfried
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:34 pm

freecad-heini-1 wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:09 am
Hi Maurice,
please let me tell you how helpful I find your manipulator workbench.
Calipper is so great for measuring dimensions, radius and angles.

In my daily work I often use the Align-Tools to place shapegroups from merged project.
After exploring the functionality, I find it very assistant.
I like to align first two faces in one direction, then deselect this direction and align on two points in the other two directions.
That is fast, precise and easy.

Thank you so much for your great work.

Best regards
Wilfried
Hi Wilfried,
I'm glad it works for you. Thanks for your post.
I'm always happy to receive positive feedback! :D
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5068
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:27 pm

easyw-fc wrote:
Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:34 pm
Hi Wilfried,
I'm glad it works for you. Thanks for your post.
I'm always happy to receive positive feedback! :D
Hi Maurice,
it's a pitty that the aligner is not full parametric. If I change the position from a datum point or datum-plane.
What do you think, is it diffucult to change the aligner into a parametric version?
Best regards
Wilfried