Manipulator WorkBench

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2838
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby easyw-fc » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:10 am

efyx wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:28 am
hi, I have request for some improvements for Manipulator WorkBench caliper tool:
- increase corner snap point (it is too small right now and not comfortable);
this should be very broad... just click on the edge and the snap should go to the closest point between middle or end of the segment.
efyx wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:28 am
- add point to perpendicular dimension, because right now it is not possible to get that dimension (see attached drawing):
this is quite difficult to implement atm
efyx wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:28 am
- put dimensions in top layer because they are only readable in wireframe mode (in flat lines filling is covering dimensions). Could be bold or in other color also. I found that sometimes dimension is in object, it should be bring to front for better readability. Thanks
you should use the annotation plane (checkbox) helper in Caliper dialog.
Image
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby efyx » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:24 am

Thanks for fast response. It works thanks.
Maybe this perpendicular dimension could be solved between point and center of cutout, you could add aditional dimensions in x and y and distance center to point will be diagonal in that case. Could that be easier to implement?
efyx
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:36 pm

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby efyx » Wed May 08, 2019 6:24 am

Hi I have some ideas for improvements, it would be perfect if you would like to implement them:
- when manipulator windows is docked all icons which are for closing, minimalising, undocking could be hide. No need for them then, it only causes accidentally turn off tools. You can undock simply by pulling it from the dock;
- icons in measuring tools should fit the window, while docked or changing main window of tools, icons are hiding under the window edge - no scalling no aligning;
- to caliper tool should be added into window the report view, because this causes additional information (reffering to your post) for dimension not only distance (because x, y or z distance is mainly needed)
I think this would be cool, what do you think?
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2838
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:33 pm

few small improvements:
1) Aligner and Mover now use the internal Undo/Redo FreeCAD stack.
2) Aligner now has a new button to place and align an object or a Part/Body container to the absolute FreeCAD Origin.
3) Caliper now displays the distance as delta x,y,z directly as a label, beside the already available report message.

2)
Aligner-Center-to-Origin.png
Aligner-Center-to-Origin.png (61.57 KiB) Viewed 974 times
-
3)
caliper-delta-pos.png
caliper-delta-pos.png (102.8 KiB) Viewed 974 times
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby f3nix » Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:51 pm

Hi Maurice.

Could you please share the "ui" files for this workbench?
I would like to try and improve the 4k display support.

Thanks.

Cheers,
Mateusz
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2838
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:52 am

f3nix wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:51 pm
Could you please share the "ui" files for this workbench?
I would like to try and improve the 4k display support.
Hi @Mateusz
I've just uploaded the ui files...
I haven't put the png files to the buttons, because you have already the svg files that I use inside the code.
Please feel free to ask if you need anything more.

I have recently updated one PC with a 4K display and I noticed some issues with FC0.18 and hi DPI setting ...
so please keep me updated.. :)
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby f3nix » Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:20 pm

easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:52 am
Hi @Mateusz
I've just uploaded the ui files...
Hi.

Thanks! I'll look into it as soon as possible.

Cheers,
Mateusz
mario52
Posts: 2921
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby mario52 » Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:25 pm

hi easyw-fc
easyw-fc wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:52 am
I noticed some issues with FC0.18 and hi DPI setting ...
is same this FCInfo Macro ?

for correct it use the QtWidgets.QGridLayout here example code

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2838
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:16 pm

mario52 wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:25 pm
is same this FCInfo Macro ?
for correct it use the QtWidgets.QGridLayout here example code
mario
Thanks Mario,
this sure will help :D

But the main issue I have is about the control size...
here the behavior of the Aligner in FC0.18 (Qt5.6) and FC0.19 (Qt5.12) on the same pc and screen.

It seems it is a bug with Qt5.6 for HDPI screens.
Qt5.6-vs-Qt5.12.png
Qt5.6-vs-Qt5.12.png (286.77 KiB) Viewed 376 times
User avatar
f3nix
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Manipulator WorkBench

Postby f3nix » Sat Jan 25, 2020 5:37 am

easyw-fc wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:16 pm
It seems it is a bug with Qt5.6 for HDPI screens.
Hi.
This is strange. Because I get this look with this version and 4k screens (see image).

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19363 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: master
Hash: e434d1145de6e964deca65698c4a162c331f52b5
Python version: 3.7.6
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Polish/Poland (pl_PL)
I have played with using the layouts and I have the caliper working quite good. One thing is missing. Not all images are in svg format. The png files are missing.

I can post the results tomorrow.

Cheers,
Mateusz
Attachments
old and new.png
old and new.png (72.13 KiB) Viewed 328 times
qt5_12_4k.png
qt5_12_4k.png (33.3 KiB) Viewed 328 times