Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
rentlau_64
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:47 am
Location: Pau (France)

Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby rentlau_64 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:30 am

Hi everybody,

I am please to inform that Work Feature Workbench is just born.
Title01.png
Title01.png (119.71 KiB) Viewed 3530 times
Quite all objects created with functions from this workbench are parametric. That mean if the "parent" object change, all children objects will change accordingly !
WF_wf.png
WF_wf.png (5.59 KiB) Viewed 3530 times
github :https://github.com/Rentlau/WorkFeature-WB

Rentlau
User avatar
HarryGeier
Posts: 1167
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hof Germany

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby HarryGeier » Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:38 am

Looks promising.. i like and used the former macro version.. i will test right ahead
Kaum macht man´s richtig , gehts´s
My Video Tutorials on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoe3B ... p8Q/videos
My FreeCAD Stuff on Hidrive: https://my.hidrive.com/share/qr3l1yddy6#$/
chrisb
Posts: 19744
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby chrisb » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:33 am

rentlau_64 wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:30 am
I am please to inform that Work Feature Workbench is just born.
No time to test now. Is it Body and Part aware?
User avatar
HarryGeier
Posts: 1167
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hof Germany

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby HarryGeier » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:47 am

I just tried in 0.17 13247

it basically works.. creates points and planes. Did not manage to get lines to show up.

Then i was not able to move elements or sets into a body, only to the top level of the part . It´s possible to create a shapebinder from each object and access the element via the shapebinder..

unless i am not missing something.. not for 0.17 as it is..

@rentlau_64 .. was it ment to work in .17 ?? if not you should please clearly state that
Kaum macht man´s richtig , gehts´s
My Video Tutorials on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoe3B ... p8Q/videos
My FreeCAD Stuff on Hidrive: https://my.hidrive.com/share/qr3l1yddy6#$/
User avatar
hammax
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby hammax » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:14 am

...Win10-32 and FC0.17.13340.
Addonmanager is not able to upload/install WorkFeatureWB.
A problem I encounter since I use FC.17.
(I suppose it has something to do with Linux-resistance of Win....)
chrisb
Posts: 19744
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby chrisb » Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:08 am

hammax wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:14 am
...Win10-32 and FC0.17.13340.
Addonmanager is not able to upload/install WorkFeatureWB.
A problem I encounter since I use FC.17.
(I suppose it has something to do with Linux-resistance of Win....)
Do you see any messages in report view?
triplus
Posts: 8802
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby triplus » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:17 am

rentlau_64 wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:30 am
I am please to inform that Work Feature Workbench is just born.
Great news!
User avatar
hammax
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby hammax » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:27 pm

...using Addonmanager I only see/saw something like "downloading".
Waiting for a while, nothing more happens and it looks like freezed.
Controlling in appdata... there is a new File "workfeature" with actual datum.
But no WorkfeatureWB in Customize-Workbenches or Macros.
triplus
Posts: 8802
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby triplus » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:40 pm

Hi @hammax.

When a FreeCAD module is not yet available in Addon manager. Or Addon manager isn't working for whatever reason. It is easy to download a FreeCAD module and install is manually. There are general instructions on FreeCAD Wiki and module developers usually provides install instructions on GitHub. Or wherever they host their code.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5475
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby sgrogan » Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:24 pm

hammax wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:27 pm
...using Addonmanager I only see/saw something like "downloading".
Waiting for a while, nothing more happens and it looks like freezed.
Controlling in appdata... there is a new File "workfeature" with actual datum.
But no WorkfeatureWB in Customize-Workbenches or Macros.
From the add-ons installer, it is trying to install the WorkFeature Macro
It installs a "workfeature" folder in %appdata%/freecad/Mod
Then it tries to create a start_WF.FCMacro symlink in your macro folder. This fails because on Win you need admin privileges to create a symlink. If you have report view activated you should see the error. There is a pending pull request to fix this for Win10 https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1337

Alternatively you can run FreeCAD as admin and then using the add-ons installer should work (it did for me after deleting the workfeatures folder from the Mod directory, otherwise it thought it was already fully installed) Then re-start FreeCAD and in your macros you will have the start_WF.FCMacro. The macro works tabified, you will see its tab next to the Combo View tab.

This new work is a true workbench. For now you can just clone @rentlau_64's repo into the Mod folder, it installs a "WorkFeature-WB" folder in %appdata%/freecad/Mod. Then re-start FreeCAD and you will have a WorkFeature Workbench in the dropdown WB selector.

Quick tests show that the macro and workbench can both be active at the same time. I didn't test yet mixing the tools in the workflow.