Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
rentlau_64
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:47 am
Location: Pau (France)

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby rentlau_64 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:22 am

@Triplus
Thank for your answers. This is exactly what i has in mind to say.

My wishes are:
- Build better documentation
- See and learn about "body" to try to fix WF-WB
- Develop parametric management (no update, interactive update and dynamic update). Now the dynamic update is ok
- Transfert a maximum of WF-Macro to WF-WB
- And have fun when coding :D

Rentlau_64

Ps : i use FreeCAD-daily too
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11570
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby yorik » Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:00 pm

Great job!!! Should I add your workbench to the addons repository @rentlau? How is it best to do that? I can either replace the older one (the macro "suite"), or leave both co-existing... What do you prefer?
rentlau_64
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:47 am
Location: Pau (France)

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby rentlau_64 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 5:56 pm

Yorik,

I would prefer now to leave them side by side as the new WF-WORKBENCH is far from complete yet.

Merci beaucoup :)

Rentlau_64
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby triplus » Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:37 pm

rentlau_64 wrote:
Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:22 am
@Triplus
Thank for your answers. This is exactly what i has in mind to say.
You're welcome. And keep up the good work.
User avatar
bill
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:25 pm

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby bill » Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:37 pm

bill wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 10:23 pm
Should I be seeing all the FUNCTIONs of the old WF-macro ?
A simple YES/NO would be fine! Reason being, I wanted to know what a GOOD-INSTALL of WF-WB looked like.
rentlau_64 wrote:
Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:22 am
- See and learn about "body" to try to fix WF-WB
- Develop parametric management (no update, interactive update and dynamic update). Now the dynamic update is ok
- Transfert a maximum of WF-Macro to WF-WB
ABOVE: From this, I still presume the answer is yes. I dont know what functions were ported to the new WF-WB at this point (besides rentlo, does anyone?)!

ABOVE: I saw your request for help and alerted realthundr to give you the heads-up

I use WorkFeature very often, because it contains specific tools I requested a while back. Ah yes, I recognize that modal dialog box verbage: yes it LOOKS-LIKE something I wrote for COLLISION-DETECT check; note the date of the dialog box title --...WF_2015------>>>> Thats called patience ! I still consider myself new/rookie/etc. because...of many reasons.

Ah, Yes.png
Ah, Yes.png (51.38 KiB) Viewed 710 times

When I installed the WorkFeature WB (manually), everything LOOKED fine. This is why I asked the original question.

Upon updating in the AddOn Manager. the WF-WB is gone. And I have gone back to WF-Macro.

Thanks A-LOT! :( for the swift and concise answer(s).
triplus wrote:
Fri Mar 09, 2018 12:50 am
I bit of patience will likely be needed to get to that goal.
I was in search of very simple answers!

I have patience: I was stuck (medically) in a recliner for a little more than 3 years; I KNOW PATIENCE!
FreeCAD helped me get through those years; and a lot since!
If I could do heavy-coding still; I would. Hey, I got the DIY-ENGINEERING-GENE (must have been recessive since it did not come from anyone in my immediate family) just like the rest of you poor-souls. :lol:

Sentiments: Close Enough!

...And the curtain goes down/closes
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby triplus » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:11 pm

bill wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:37 pm
Upon updating in the AddOn Manager. the WF-WB is gone. And I have gone back to WF-Macro.
Use both. Would be my suggestion. ;)
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby GlouGlou » Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:20 pm

Im unable to start the worbench despite i've installed it automatically or manually as well. :roll:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13425 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 8fdce5a9ccd381192a26cb353b0b7eb48cdcdb04
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby NormandC » Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:39 pm

@Rentlau I just noticed your topic, it's great that you're starting this new workbench.

I have no clue about programming, but if you're trying to understand how to add objects into a PartDesign Body, you could look at shaise's SheetMetal workbench. He managed to make his workbench compatible with the new PartDesign workflow in 0.17.
rentlau_64
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:47 am
Location: Pau (France)

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby rentlau_64 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 7:10 am

@ GlouGlou
Im unable to start the worbench despite i've installed it automatically or manually as well. :roll:
Didn't try on windows yet but I will.
Have you any error message to start with?
As far as I know only manual install is available today.

On Linux the manual installation is as follow:
Into your home directory you must have a similar directory /home/your_rname/.FreeCAD/Mod/
This is the place all your extra workbench add-ons are installed!
  • And unzip into your home directory /home/your_rname/.FreeCAD/Mod/
The WorkFeature Workbench is independent from the MACRO Work Feature and must be visible from Workbench selector menu

Let me know.

@NormandC
I have no clue about programming, but if you're trying to understand how to add objects into a PartDesign Body, you could look at shaise's SheetMetal workbench. He managed to make his workbench compatible with the new PartDesign workflow in 0.17.
Thank you I will look carefully to improve WorkFeature Workbench

Rentlau_64
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Work Feature workbench with parametric objects

Postby GlouGlou » Sun Mar 18, 2018 7:47 am

Indeed its not appearing.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (114.47 KiB) Viewed 591 times