BIM Workbench

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10826
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:13 pm

No, it's correct... The BIM workbench resides in /Mod/BIM, but the classification files must not go there, otherwise they'll pollute the source code. So they go in /BIM (one level up). That's where all the presets of the BIM wb get stored (currently only the project tool)
alex_V
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:25 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby alex_V » Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:32 pm

yorik wrote:
Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:13 pm
No, it's correct... The BIM workbench resides in /Mod/BIM, but the classification files must not go there, otherwise they'll pollute the source code. So they go in /BIM (one level up). That's where all the presets of the BIM wb get stored (currently only the project tool)
You are right! Sorry my mistake, I didn't see that we were talking about 2 different locations :?
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10826
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:55 pm

As of git commit 496df343, Arch & BIM workbenches now have a new "Reference" tool/object that can import/link the geometry of any object that has a shape (including BuildingParts) from another document. The linked document is scanned for changes every minute (that interval can be changed in the preferences) and if changed, the reference object is marked for recompute (no automatic merge, on purpose). In context menu, you have options to force reload or open the linked file.

This is a VERY simple implementation, it doesn't open the linked file in FreeCAD, it just swallows the needed brep data from it. This is a quite different path than Assembly3, so I chose not to use it, at least for now. The idea here is not to have fine control over the linked objects, but rather be able to work with very large files (say, whole buildings or building levels).

In the future, I'll try to add one more level to this, which is to store and import the inventor representation only. But this should already allow us to work with significantly larger models.

Please test! ;)
User avatar
saso
Posts: 1159
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby saso » Sun Sep 30, 2018 9:28 am

yorik wrote:
Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:55 pm
As of git commit 496df343, Arch & BIM workbenches now have a new "Reference" tool/object that can import/link the geometry of any object that has a shape (including BuildingParts) from another document. The linked document is scanned for changes every minute (that interval can be changed in the preferences) and if changed, the reference object is marked for recompute (no automatic merge, on purpose). In context menu, you have options to force reload or open the linked file.

This is a VERY simple implementation, it doesn't open the linked file in FreeCAD, it just swallows the needed brep data from it. This is a quite different path than Assembly3, so I chose not to use it, at least for now. The idea here is not to have fine control over the linked objects, but rather be able to work with very large files (say, whole buildings or building levels).

In the future, I'll try to add one more level to this, which is to store and import the inventor representation only. But this should already allow us to work with significantly larger models.
Very exciting! And I am having even much bigger hopes for the inventor representation :roll:
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:53 pm

yorik wrote:
Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:55 pm

Please test! ;)
I am a bit lost. Can you give a short tutorial to help us to run a test?
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:33 am

Hi. Thanks for the new features in the BIM WB.
One feedback: The new tutorial embedded in BIM WB does not show the images.
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15299 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5217b245b4f98cf1e3f63ecfe20e379fe4923d80
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)
FreeCAD_2018-12-03_08-28-02.png
FreeCAD_2018-12-03_08-28-02.png (38.9 KiB) Viewed 1321 times
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10826
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Mon Dec 03, 2018 2:11 pm

Thanks for the feedback! I'll have a look at it. Definitely need to run FreeCAD on windows more often :?
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby hardeeprai » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:11 pm

bitacovir wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:33 am
Hi. Thanks for the new features in the BIM WB.
One feedback: The new tutorial embedded in BIM WB does not show the images.
Works fine for me on Linux (Ubuntu).

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15302 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2e03d2f298677b8212c22cbbc3cb20b7c80eabb5
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:36 pm

I just noticed that the CANCEL button of Bin Project Setup panel does not work in my case.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15299 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5217b245b4f98cf1e3f63ecfe20e379fe4923d80
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 10826
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby yorik » Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:05 pm

bitacovir wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:36 pm
I just noticed that the CANCEL button of Bin Project Setup panel does not work in my case.
Fixed! Thanks for reporting