Lithophane Workbench

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:58 am

chrisb wrote:
Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:48 pm
How about having a lock between X and Y which can be opened and closed
Thanks for the input. :) Created a issue for this idea https://github.com/furti/FreeCAD-Lithophane/issues/27
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 pm

There are two new small Features available :)

1. It is possible to select the image in the 3D View like other objects

2. A Progress indicator is shown in the bottom right corner for long running tasks. Currently it is implemented when the image is recalculated or when the "Make Solid" command is called.
progress_indicator.png
progress_indicator.png (11.22 KiB) Viewed 1254 times
Relutz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 11:44 am

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby Relutz » Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:12 pm

Hallo . How can i edit the output Picture ( the Lithophane) .
I would like to cut a hole and attach a striving.
But it don't have a mesh or why can't i edit it ?
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:20 am

Relutz wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 7:12 pm
But it don't have a mesh
What do you mean by you dont't have a mesh?

To create a mesh you have to do the following:
lithophane.png
lithophane.png (13.09 KiB) Viewed 1072 times
1. Click the Import button and select a Image. After the Import is complete, select the imported object in the TreeView
2. Click the "Create Box" Button. This will create the actual mesh from the imported Image



To cut something out you might want to do something like this:

1. Make sure you have OpenSCAD installed (http://www.openscad.org/downloads.html) and configured in FreeCAD
openscad.png
openscad.png (36.5 KiB) Viewed 1072 times
2. Switch to the "Part" workbench and place a Default cube
3. Switch to the "Mesh Design" Workbench, select the Cube in the TreeView and Click on "Meshes > Create shape from mesh"
4. This will give you a mesh representation of your cube
5. Select the Lithophane mesh and the cube mesh and click on "Meshes > Boolean > Difference"

This should give you something like this
cube_difference.png
cube_difference.png (95.03 KiB) Viewed 1072 times
Hope this helps.
campoyyano
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:07 am

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby campoyyano » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:14 am

Hi, I am new in this forum my name is Manuel and i think this is an amazing addon for FreeCad, good Job.
Now one question: Is Possible to make the lithophane cilindrical ??. I think this is a good thing for make for example one lamp.


Thank you and Good Job
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:56 am

Good to hear you like it :)

It is not possible to create cylindrical lithophanes right now. But this is one of the next things I want to work on. Maybe in a month or two this will be possible :)
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:48 pm

campoyyano wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:14 am
Is Possible to make the lithophane cilindrical
The next Version will have the feature to create Lithophanes in the shape of a tube (hollow inside son one can easily place a light source inside). The version will be available in the next few days.


This image
Lithophane_Windmill.png
Lithophane_Windmill.png (68.76 KiB) Viewed 817 times
Will look like this
Lithophane_Tube.png
Lithophane_Tube.png (30.86 KiB) Viewed 817 times
Lithophane_Tube1.png
Lithophane_Tube1.png (37.28 KiB) Viewed 817 times
Maybe not the best Image for a tube. But it looks kinda cool I think :D


Did not make an actual test print Right now. So use with caution. Maybe you should start with something small first ;)
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:26 pm

Now the new Version with the Tube Feature is available. So update the workbench and you should be able to create a tube :)
mario52
Posts: 2602
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby mario52 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 1:40 pm

hi

super macro thanks

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
furti
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Lithophane Workbench

Postby furti » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:51 pm

Released a new version that contains a performance optionization for bigger images (1000 x 1500 Pixels and above). The Texture creation for the 3D view hangs for a Pretty Long time with the old version for large Images. So update to the new version to parse larger Images :)