Arch Texture Workbench

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 693
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:05 pm

Good progress. Keep going!!
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
paullee
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby paullee » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:35 pm

Look much much better! :)

Looking forward to all new features here and there by all contributors make Arch/BIM more powerful and productive!


Maybe some day FC just directly output something that could show in a tablet / smartphone on webgl / glTF format - https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=31680
triplus
Posts: 8689
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby triplus » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:55 pm

Nice to see more advance texture support is coming to FreeCAD.

P.S. In both Py2 and Py3 FreeCAD builds i get No module named 'faceset_utils'. When trying to activate the workbench.
paullee
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby paullee » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:35 am

furti wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:03 pm
It is possible now to rotate textures for individual faces.

The usage of the tool is documented at the end of the getting started guide.
Hi, by checking the Readme, it seems quite handy to do the rotation! :D

Not sure if there are a numbers of faces to tweak, any better way in the future.


In addition, is it something start to look similar to UV Mapping? I just have a little knowledge about that start learning something in Blender.
User avatar
furti
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby furti » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:20 am

triplus wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:55 pm
No module named 'faceset_utils'.
Thanks for the info. It worked for me in py3 but had the same message for py2. Have to look into this.
paullee wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:35 am
Not sure if there are a numbers of faces to tweak, any better way in the future.
The major problem now is that you can't see what face has a special configuration from the gui. I needed a quick way to get things working. So i used command panels for configuration. The idea is to move away from command panels to a own tab like the spreadsheet does. Than there would be enough space to do a proper GUI :)
paullee wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:35 am
In addition, is it something start to look similar to UV Mapping
Some basic stuff like scaling (done by setting the length and width), rotation an maybe transition is mandatory. Because it is impossible to let a algorithm map all faces correctly. But itbis it is far away from a general texture mapping like blender has.

Edit: fixed a typo
Last edited by furti on Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
furti
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby furti » Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:44 am

triplus wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:55 pm
No module named 'faceset_utils'
This problem should be fixed now :)
User avatar
furti
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby furti » Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:20 am

Another good news. The texture mapping should work in Py2 builds also :)

Coin3D does not like "Unicode" objects for the filename. Had to encode it for Py2 builds to get a "str" object.
triplus
Posts: 8689
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby triplus » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:06 pm

furti wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:44 am
triplus wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:55 pm
No module named 'faceset_utils'
This problem should be fixed now :)
I can confirm the issue was resolved (and thanks for creating the tutorial):
Texture.png
Texture.png (57.66 KiB) Viewed 721 times
Nice for being able to set the texture and for the result to survive FreeCAD restart. As View -> Texture mapping ... only persist until you close FreeCAD. Anyway nice to see texture support and improvements are being tackled and good luck with your work.
Another good news. The texture mapping should work in Py2 builds also :)
I created the document on Py2 build and noticed the document won't be loaded successfully after:

Code: Select all

<type 'exceptions.TypeError'>: string indices must be integers
P.S. The same document will load without issues on Py3 build.
User avatar
furti
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby furti » Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:00 pm

triplus wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:06 pm
<type 'exceptions.TypeError'>: string indices must be integers
This should be fixed now. Checked a variable for type 'str' but Py 2 gave me 'unicode' :roll: Now the check works and the file is loaded in Python 2 correctly :)
User avatar
furti
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:27 pm

Re: Arch Texture Workbench

Postby furti » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:51 pm

The workbench is now available from the addon manager :)