Project faces onto bended surface

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Project faces onto bended surface

Postby apeltauer » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:02 pm

Hi all,
i want to introduce a new feature i have developed for the part workbench. The feature is able to do the following:
Capture6.PNG
Capture6.PNG (320.42 KiB) Viewed 537 times
Capture8.PNG
Capture8.PNG (116.33 KiB) Viewed 537 times
Project a logo, text or any face,wire,edge to a surface. With the projection part it is possible to create a solid or wire. I use this created solid to create a cut with the underlying solid.

Simple how to:
1. I have create a new feature which can be found in the part workbench with this icon
Part_ProjectionOnSurface.png
Part_ProjectionOnSurface.png (1.26 KiB) Viewed 537 times
"
2. Open the dialog
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (13.71 KiB) Viewed 537 times
3. First you have to select a projection surface
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (81.23 KiB) Viewed 537 times
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Project faces onto bended surface

Postby apeltauer » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:05 pm

4. Choose what you want to select. It is possible to choose a single edge, a wire or a face
5. I go with the faces
Capture3.PNG
Capture3.PNG (102.97 KiB) Viewed 534 times
6. Now you can set the extrude height and the depth you want to put the projected solid in to your face
Capture4.PNG
Capture4.PNG (31.92 KiB) Viewed 534 times
7. Hit OK --> You just have created a projected solid.
8. Select your face solid and your just created projected solid and make a cut.
9 DONE... :)

The source code can be found here: https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD (https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/bl ... urface.cpp)

Can i commit my code to the master branch, or is their a pre 0.19 branch or something?
Is someone interested to help with a little how to video, doc, wiki text.... ???
Br Manuel
chrisb
Posts: 14094
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Project faces onto bended surface

Postby chrisb » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:25 pm

Nice tool, is it always a vertical projection or does it wrap around a cylinder or sphere?

As for placing it in Part workbench: I'm not sure if it should live there with its more basic tools. I would rather expect it in something like Surface WB.

Final remark about wording: Although this is a feature in the software sense, that notion is widely used in PartDesign workbench for what is modeled there. So you might better call it something else such as a "tool" or a "new function".
User avatar
apeltauer
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Project faces onto bended surface

Postby apeltauer » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:13 pm

It makes the projection and the extrude along the direction which is choosen. See the picture in step 2. The initial direction is the camera direction when starting the function. With the x,y,z buttons it is possible to set the direction to x,y or z.
I think the part wb would be the best place, because the tool creates a solid.
dxp.dev
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:57 pm

Re: Project faces onto bended surface

Postby dxp.dev » Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:44 am

Could we have it on the Part WB, the Surface WB and the Part Design WB ? So that we don't need to change WB to use it ?
GeneFC
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Project faces onto bended surface

Postby GeneFC » Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:24 pm

In most cases it is not necessary to actually open a workbench to use its tools.

Many experienced FreeCAD users have created a custom toolbar to access tools from other workbenches.

Use the menu item Tools >> Customize >> Toolbars to create a new toolbar.

I am not disagreeing with your request; merely showing a quick way to get around the current situation.

Gene
dxp.dev
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:57 pm

Re: Project faces onto bended surface

Postby dxp.dev » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:39 pm

GeneFC wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:24 pm
In most cases it is not necessary to actually open a workbench to use its tools.

Many experienced FreeCAD users have created a custom toolbar to access tools from other workbenches.

Use the menu item Tools >> Customize >> Toolbars to create a new toolbar.

I am not disagreeing with your request; merely showing a quick way to get around the current situation.

Gene
Nice, I didn't know that, thanks.