Addon Manager improvements

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13660
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by yorik »

Thanks everybody! In git commit caef4b6c6, several fixes:

- Cannot switch tabs anymore while processing
- Applied both of Syres's fixes (file:/// and removing ?raw=true)
- Adds the server part (github.com or anything else) to the image urls if missing

There are still some images missing but apparently animated gifs, which I'm not sure QTextBrowser will support anyway...

I'll now work on supporting the workbench icons, but we need another way to show installed workbenches if we're not using icons for that anymore (maybe color them in green, I'll see if that's possible)
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Veteran
Posts: 1481
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by HakanSeven12 »

yorik wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:57 pm Thanks everybody! In git commit caef4b6c6, several fixes:

- Cannot switch tabs anymore while processing
- Applied both of Syres's fixes (file:/// and removing ?raw=true)
- Adds the server part (github.com or anything else) to the image urls if missing

There are still some images missing but apparently animated gifs, which I'm not sure QTextBrowser will support anyway...

I'll now work on supporting the workbench icons, but we need another way to show installed workbenches if we're not using icons for that anymore (maybe color them in green, I'll see if that's possible)
You can put little green thick to corner of the WB icons
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13660
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by yorik »

In git commit 6259e1eb3 WB icons are now used when available. I tested painting the installed items in green and the updatable items in orange, it works but not the best solution... I find it a bit violent..

@Kunda1 and everybody else, if any of you add new icons, please also update this file: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... anager.qrc
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by Kunda1 »

yorik wrote: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 am @Kunda1 and everybody else, if any of you add new icons, please also update this file: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... anager.qrc
:+1:
PR 2264 - Added YAML Workspace Addon logo
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13660
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by yorik »

in git commit 33ce0f3f2 the installed items have been changed from the green background color to use green text... I think it's friendlier on the eyes :)

Also there is now provision for macro icons, that can be added the same way as workbench icons. They must be named My_Macro_macro_icon.svg, My_Macro being the exact same name as it appears in the Addon Manager, with spaces replaced by _
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by Kunda1 »

yorik wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:20 pm in git commit 33ce0f3f2 the installed items have been changed from the green background color to use green text... I think it's friendlier on the eyes :)
Is it possible to make an overlay semi-transparent bar that goes across the whole top of the Description window with the text in it ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by sgrogan »

Kunda1 wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:23 pm Is it possible to make an overlay semi-transparent bar that goes across the whole top of the Description window with the text in it ?
I think this has been there since the beginning /furti/FreeCAD-ArchTextures/blob/master ... xtured.png

Ihave problems with only a few WB's now.
Reinforcement, the link is
https://camo.githubusercontent.com/c74b ... 4b2e6a7067

I get this error in report view

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\Chris\GitHub\FreeCAD-build2\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py", line 386, in run
    l = self.loadImages( message, self.repos[self.idx][1] )
  File "C:\Users\Chris\GitHub\FreeCAD-build2\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py", line 424, in loadImages
    f = open(storename,"wb")
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'C:\\Users\\Chris\\AppData\\Roaming\\FreeCAD\\AddonManager\\Images\\68747470733a2f2f7777772e667265656361647765622e6f72672f77696b692f696d616765732f7468756d622f362f36392f417263685f52656261725f53747261696768742e706e672f333270782d417263685f52656261725f53747261696768742e706e67'
My other errors also have the "githubusercontent.com" in the url
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13660
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by yorik »

Kunda1 wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:23 pm Is it possible to make an overlay semi-transparent bar that goes across the whole top of the Description window with the text in it ?
Do you have an example? I don't understand.
sgrogan wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:57 pm I get this error in report view
This is a really strange error. That is the moment when the file is written... It should not matter if it doesn't exist.
We could get rid of that error by putting the operation in a try/except, but better to find the cause...
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by Kunda1 »

yorik wrote: Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:09 am Do you have an example? I don't understand.
My gimp skills leave a lot to be desired
The green bar is an overlay, it is semi-transparent and when you scroll the window it stays put but the text scrolls under it. If the user isn't interested in seeing it, they can click the x to the right.
addon-demo.png
addon-demo.png (186.67 KiB) Viewed 1853 times
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2899
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Post by Syres »

yorik wrote: Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:09 am
sgrogan wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:57 pm I get this error in report view
We could get rid of that error by putting the operation in a try/except, but better to find the cause...
I had a look at the Reinforcement Wb error and noticed that the second image had a much longer URL than the first on the page. I believe the real error is the URL for the 2nd image exceeds the Windows 260 character limit, it's 281.
Locked