Addon Manager improvements

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11510
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby yorik » Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:57 pm

Thanks everybody! In git commit caef4b6c6, several fixes:

- Cannot switch tabs anymore while processing
- Applied both of Syres's fixes (file:/// and removing ?raw=true)
- Adds the server part (github.com or anything else) to the image urls if missing

There are still some images missing but apparently animated gifs, which I'm not sure QTextBrowser will support anyway...

I'll now work on supporting the workbench icons, but we need another way to show installed workbenches if we're not using icons for that anymore (maybe color them in green, I'll see if that's possible)
User avatar
HakanSeven12
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:30 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby HakanSeven12 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 9:01 pm

yorik wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:57 pm
Thanks everybody! In git commit caef4b6c6, several fixes:

- Cannot switch tabs anymore while processing
- Applied both of Syres's fixes (file:/// and removing ?raw=true)
- Adds the server part (github.com or anything else) to the image urls if missing

There are still some images missing but apparently animated gifs, which I'm not sure QTextBrowser will support anyway...

I'll now work on supporting the workbench icons, but we need another way to show installed workbenches if we're not using icons for that anymore (maybe color them in green, I'll see if that's possible)
You can put little green thick to corner of the WB icons
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11510
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby yorik » Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 am

In git commit 6259e1eb3 WB icons are now used when available. I tested painting the installed items in green and the updatable items in orange, it works but not the best solution... I find it a bit violent..

@Kunda1 and everybody else, if any of you add new icons, please also update this file: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... anager.qrc
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5476
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:48 am

yorik wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:55 am
@Kunda1 and everybody else, if any of you add new icons, please also update this file: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... anager.qrc
:+1:
PR 2264 - Added YAML Workspace Addon logo
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11510
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby yorik » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:20 pm

in git commit 33ce0f3f2 the installed items have been changed from the green background color to use green text... I think it's friendlier on the eyes :)

Also there is now provision for macro icons, that can be added the same way as workbench icons. They must be named My_Macro_macro_icon.svg, My_Macro being the exact same name as it appears in the Addon Manager, with spaces replaced by _
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5476
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:23 pm

yorik wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:20 pm
in git commit 33ce0f3f2 the installed items have been changed from the green background color to use green text... I think it's friendlier on the eyes :)
Is it possible to make an overlay semi-transparent bar that goes across the whole top of the Description window with the text in it ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby sgrogan » Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:57 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:23 pm
Is it possible to make an overlay semi-transparent bar that goes across the whole top of the Description window with the text in it ?
I think this has been there since the beginning /furti/FreeCAD-ArchTextures/blob/master ... xtured.png

Ihave problems with only a few WB's now.
Reinforcement, the link is
https://camo.githubusercontent.com/c74b ... 4b2e6a7067

I get this error in report view

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\Chris\GitHub\FreeCAD-build2\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py", line 386, in run
    l = self.loadImages( message, self.repos[self.idx][1] )
  File "C:\Users\Chris\GitHub\FreeCAD-build2\Mod\AddonManager\addonmanager_workers.py", line 424, in loadImages
    f = open(storename,"wb")
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'C:\\Users\\Chris\\AppData\\Roaming\\FreeCAD\\AddonManager\\Images\\68747470733a2f2f7777772e667265656361647765622e6f72672f77696b692f696d616765732f7468756d622f362f36392f417263685f52656261725f53747261696768742e706e672f333270782d417263685f52656261725f53747261696768742e706e67'
My other errors also have the "githubusercontent.com" in the url
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11510
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby yorik » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:09 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:23 pm
Is it possible to make an overlay semi-transparent bar that goes across the whole top of the Description window with the text in it ?
Do you have an example? I don't understand.
sgrogan wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:57 pm
I get this error in report view
This is a really strange error. That is the moment when the file is written... It should not matter if it doesn't exist.
We could get rid of that error by putting the operation in a try/except, but better to find the cause...
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5476
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:44 am

yorik wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:09 am
Do you have an example? I don't understand.
My gimp skills leave a lot to be desired
The green bar is an overlay, it is semi-transparent and when you scroll the window it stays put but the text scrolls under it. If the user isn't interested in seeing it, they can click the x to the right.
addon-demo.png
addon-demo.png (186.67 KiB) Viewed 330 times
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Syres
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Addon Manager improvements

Postby Syres » Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:06 am

yorik wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:09 am
sgrogan wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:57 pm
I get this error in report view
We could get rid of that error by putting the operation in a try/except, but better to find the cause...
I had a look at the Reinforcement Wb error and noticed that the second image had a much longer URL than the first on the page. I believe the real error is the URL for the 2nd image exceeds the Windows 260 character limit, it's 281.