Python2 in FreeCAD 0.19 is being abandoned

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7145
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Python2 in FreeCAD 0.19 is being abandoned

Postby DeepSOIC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:40 pm

wmayer wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:04 pm
Looks like more py3 stuff not tested on py2.
Sooner or later you have to switch to a py3 build because py2 officially expires in less than three months.
Again this highlights the need for basic testing on a python2 build. Folks messing with code using only python3 are breaking stuff.
I guess most developers have moved to the Py3/Qt5 combination on their systems which is good. And it's recommended that they should no longer worry about Py2 or Qt4 because it is and always was a nightmare to maintain all the combinations Py2/Qt4, Py2/Qt5 or Py3/Qt5 (Py3/Qt4 was never officially supported).

Nevertheless, if someone runs into a Py2 or Qt4 problem that can be easily fixed I am still open to make a fix for it. ...there are systems where Qt5 causes quite some problems whereas Qt4 worked perfectly well.
So, we can no longer expect Py2 FreeCAD 0.19 be as good as Py3 one.

Particularly, Path is reported to be broken in Py2, see toolmanager bombed out , all tools gone..
dubstar-04
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:41 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Python2 in FreeCAD 0.19 is being abandoned

Postby dubstar-04 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 3:52 pm

To add a little bit of context:

The end of life for Python 2 has been threatened for sometime but the official date is almost upon us [1].

https://pythonclock.org/

From the 1st of January 2020, Python 2 will no longer be officially supported. From this date the official python devs will no longer provide bug fixes, or security updates.

This shouldn't come as too much of a surprise since python 3 was released 12 years ago [2]

[1] https://www.python.org/doc/sunset-python-2/
[2] https://www.python.org/download/releases/3.0/
Last edited by dubstar-04 on Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Python2 in FreeCAD 0.19 is being abandoned

Postby triplus » Wed Oct 09, 2019 6:47 am

Yes, this was more or less expected. Before we migrated to Python 3 (basically before FreeCAD 0.18), a lot of developers didn't really care al that much about Python 3. After the migration, a lot of developers don't care about Python 2 anymore. Therefore it is safe to say, FreeCAD 0.19 will introduce a lot of Python 2 issues. On C++ side, compiling, Werner is still trying to maintain compatibility. But FreeCAD 0.19, as a whole, won't be Python 2 compatible anymore, expect issues.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8468
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Python2 in FreeCAD 0.19 is being abandoned

Postby bernd » Mon Oct 14, 2019 4:08 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:40 pm
So, we can no longer expect Py2 FreeCAD 0.19 be as good as Py3 one.
In FEM 0.19 Py3 support is allready better than Py2 support.

IMHO we should try to keep P2 support if possible for the 0.19 release. Means for sure we should not remove any Py2/Py3 switches in 0.19 release and we should not deactivate the travis build for Py2 even if Python main support ends soon.

ATM I try to keep FEM in FreeCAD 0.18 and in FreeCAD 0.19 Py2 and Py3 compatible. As werner said this is going to be more difficault in 0.19 with ongoing development.

With the next release (hopefully not 0.20) we should disscuss this again and find a broad agreement in this regard (may be not support Py2 at all).
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5453
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Python2 in FreeCAD 0.19 is being abandoned

Postby sgrogan » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:23 pm

Can we pin this, maybe with a banner, like in the help forum, but on the main forum page. IMPORTANT: PY2 is reaching EOL, or some such?
I'm sure FreeCAD will support py2 when possible, but some disto's are already removing py2, at least as the default.