Arch Stairs

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Arch Stairs

Postby yorik » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:15 pm

Finally the stairs are there:

Image

What it can do until now:
- build stairs from scratch, 100% based on numeric properties: length, height, number of steps, etc.
- build stairs on top of a selected line. It then follows the line. The line can be non-horizontal too (to indicate the slope)
- show threads as solid, if you give them a thickness
- show the structure (only "massive" style works, structure thickness must be non-zero)

What I plan to add:
- be based on a curve
- allow to add landings (for stairs based on wires with multiple edges)
- allow winders (steps that open like a hand fan)
- allow different types of structure (single stinger, two stingers)
- allow custom profiles for steps

I'm encountering terrible, nightmarish math problems when looking at the more complex cases above, so it might not come so fast, so I already pushed what works so far...
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Arch Stairs

Postby triplus » Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:08 pm

Nice. Stairs are as common in Arch as bolts are common in Mech. ;)
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch Stairs

Postby yorik » Fri Sep 13, 2013 1:59 am

A little bit later, stringers are now working:

Image
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Arch Stairs

Postby NormandC » Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:15 am

Wow! Arch is getting very impressive. :) I'll have to give it a try at some point! But I've got too many projects waiting, and not enough disciplin... :oops:
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8470
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Arch Stairs

Postby bernd » Wed May 21, 2014 5:04 pm

The default values (nummerics) for a stair from scratch are meters but the standard unit in FreeCAD for a new document is mm. It means a stair from scratch is only usable for a people from modell railroad. :D

BTW: That tool is pretty coooool. :)
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11574
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch Stairs

Postby yorik » Wed May 21, 2014 9:12 pm

Ah these units!!

Fixed! I added default pref settings for stairs too.
cron