Drawing view too far from origin? (resolved)

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Drawing view too far from origin? (resolved)

Postby Renato Rebelo » Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:56 pm

Hello,
I have a question:
is there any limitation on the distance at which the objects are relative to the origin?
I'm using an arch plan and when I try to create a drawing view of an object away from the origin the view created is blank, but if I move it closer to the origin it works.

thank you,
Renato

OS: Ubuntu 15.04
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.5639 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 6a93d1392db350b1b7fcc29b56cf53fd1656c2a7
Python version: 2.7.9
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 4354
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby microelly2 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:09 pm

In case of a Perspektive view its a property of the camera. May be you have to change the properties of the camera.
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby Renato Rebelo » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:34 pm

Hello,
no, it is an orthographic view, if the subject is far from the origin of coordinates, can not create the drawing view.
thank you,
Renato
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
triplus
Posts: 8676
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby triplus » Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:51 pm

Could you attach .fcstd file as it would be easier to test the behavior that you are describing. I am not sure of your exact use case but it could make sense for FreeCAD tool involved in the operation to be limited to predefined max size value. I have seen this using other set of tools in the past.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11510
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby yorik » Sat Oct 03, 2015 4:52 pm

It's normal, actually. When creating a projection in the Drawing WB, the coordinates of your shape are projected "as is". A point situated at (1000,1000,1000), when projected on the XY plane, will become (1000,1000,0). So probably it will be outside the limits of the sheet (the point 0,0 is at the top left corner of the sheet).

So you must do a little bit of math, if you know your point is at (1000,1000,0), and you want it at the (0,0) point of the drawing sheet, you need to give X and Y offset of -1000 at scale 1:1 (or -100 at scale 1:10)

Actually, it would be handy to have a tool on the Drawing WB to "move view to the center of the screen" that would set the X and Y offsets automatically... issue #2288
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby Renato Rebelo » Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:47 pm

Hello,
It was what I thought.
is a good idea this tool "move view to the center of the screen".
thank you,
Renato
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby Renato Rebelo » Sun Oct 04, 2015 9:09 am

I was trying to do the way you said, but I can not, can you help me.
Attached file
thank you,
Renato
Attachments
forum.fcstd
(66.62 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: Drawing view too far from origin?

Postby Renato Rebelo » Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:43 pm

Hello,
I could already solve the problem ... :D at the beginning is not easy, but I made a spreadsheet in order to facilitate
Attached file (change de extension to .ods)
thank you,

Renato
posição folha.zip
(9.54 KiB) Downloaded 103 times
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you