I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
ruchg
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:26 am

I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by ruchg »

I'm detailing my model.

Using the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench (hamish), the Dimension symbols are available, but there are no Weld icons in the toolbar.

I've recently updated the Drawing Dimension workbench via a git pull As well as updated the OS (Fedora 23 to Fedora 25) And I've dropped the persistent toolbar module to see if it would re-scan the Drawing Dimensioning module. I also changed the icon size from small back to the default.

So far no Weld Symbols.

Weld symbols still exist in:
/home/ruchg/.FreeCAD/Mod/FreeCAD_drawing_dimensioning/Gui/Resources/icons/welding

There is a welding python script at:
/home/ruchg/.FreeCAD/Mod/FreeCAD_drawing_dimensioning/weldingSymbols.py

Is this a recent change to the organization of the Drawing Dimensioning Module and I should not expect to see welding icons, or is something happened with my installation and how do I bring them back?

OS: Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.Unknown
Build type: Unknown
Python version: 2.7.11
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

Linux 4.8.15-300.fc25.x86_64 #1 SMP Thu Dec 15 23:10:23 UTC 2016 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Running Cinnamon
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18589
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by NormandC »

Sorry for stating the obvious, you may have tried it already: have you right-clicked on the toolbar area to see if the "Drawing Dimensioning Welding Symbols" toolbar was enabled?
Attachments
FC_Drawing_Dimensioning_Toolbars_01.png
FC_Drawing_Dimensioning_Toolbars_01.png (51.14 KiB) Viewed 2362 times
ruchg
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:26 am

Re: I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by ruchg »

I don't have the option of turning on the Weld symbols, they don't exist in my world . . . .
Attachments
WeldSymbolsMissing.png
WeldSymbolsMissing.png (79.44 KiB) Viewed 2349 times
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18589
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by NormandC »

OK then, try this: in ~/.FreeCAD, remove from the folder or rename the user.cfg and system.cfg files. When you restart FreeCAD, fresh config files will be created, this will return FreeCAD to its default settings. Maybe you'll get the Welding Symbols toolbar back.
ruchg
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:26 am

Re: I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by ruchg »

No joy after deleting the two config files.

I did notice in the InitGui.py file:

Code: Select all

        import weldingSymbols
   --> git_commit_no = int( FreeCAD.Version()[2].split()[0] )
        if git_commit_no > 5166:
            weldingCommandList = ['dd_weldingGroupCommand']
        else:
            weldingCommandList = weldingSymbols.weldingCmds
        self.appendToolbar('Drawing Dimensioning Welding Symbols', weldingCommandList)
        self.appendToolbar('Drawing Dimensioning Help', [ 'dd_help' ])
in my FreeCAD if I would submit the version string to the Python console I get back:

Code: Select all

>>> FreeCAD.Version()
['0', '16', 'Unknown', 'Unknown', 'Unknown']
>>> 

So I'm thinking that the git commit number is coming back unknown and the if statement is failing to do as the programmer intended.

Assuming the git commit number of my FreeCAD is greater than 5166, I hacked the if statement, commenting it out and tweaking the indent level:

Code: Select all

        import weldingSymbols
#        git_commit_no = int( FreeCAD.Version()[2].split()[0] )
#        if git_commit_no > 5166:
        weldingCommandList = ['dd_weldingGroupCommand']
#        else:
#            weldingCommandList = weldingSymbols.weldingCmds
        self.appendToolbar('Drawing Dimensioning Welding Symbols', weldingCommandList)
        self.appendToolbar('Drawing Dimensioning Help', [ 'dd_help' ])
 
I get back the welding symbols.
User avatar
NormandC
Veteran
Posts: 18589
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by NormandC »

That's the first time I see the missing FreeCAD configuration causing real problems.
ruchg wrote:Assuming the git commit number of my FreeCAD is greater than 5166
It should be. The official initial 0.16 release revision number was 6700, there have been 7 bug fixing revisions since then, the latest source is 0.16.6707. Anything before 6700 was a development snapshot.

The problem with the missing info is that a versioning file is generated at compilation time, but it requires the compilation to be done in a Git repo. The auto-generated source tarball on Github strips the .git folder so if your Linux distro uses it the versioning file cannot be generated. See Incomplete FreeCAD info for Linux packages based on Github source tarball
ruchg
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:26 am

Re: I've lost the Welding Symbols of the Drawing Dimensioning Workbench

Post by ruchg »

I had opened an issue in hamish2014/FreeCAD_drawing_dimensioning back in May. Now that we know more, I've amplified the original issue on github.

I had hoped it was as simple as providing a compound OR conditional however the line above tries to type cast the 'Unknown' text as integer which throws the error.

Thanks.
Post Reply