which OS version needed to run the builds

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
diep
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:26 am
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby diep » Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:47 pm

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases

For the below builds which version of the OSes do i need for os/x and for windows to run below FreeCAD versions?

214 MB
FreeCAD_0.17-9797.9a6191f-OSX-x86_64.dmg
105 MB
FreeCAD_0.17.7745_x64_dev_win.7z
89.2 MB
FreeCAD_0.17.7745_x86_dev_win.7z
124 MB
FreeCAD_0.17.9796_x64_dev_win.7z
92.8 MB
FreeCAD_0.17.9796_x86_dev_win.7z
Source code (zip)
Source code (tar.gz)
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5889
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby sgrogan » Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:04 pm

For OSX >= 10.10
For Win >=7 guaranteed, as you know we have mixed results on Vista, for some it works and for others not. I have no idea why.
For the source tarballs, whatever versions you can get it to compile on. You need a compiler that supports c++11 features and compatible libraries of all the FreeCAD dependencies.
EDIT: Note that the source tarballs are auto-generated when the release was first made. They correspond to 0.17.6700
diep
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:26 am
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby diep » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:32 pm

Thanks for the quick answer!

Will try them on Vista ultimate here. I do not own win7 regrettably.
the os/x version i have is very old.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5889
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby sgrogan » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:41 pm

diep wrote:Will try them on Vista ultimate here. I do not own win7 regrettably.
I don't think you will have any different result than before. The build system has not changed. For you it may be better to run linux in a VM, dual boot, or Live CD/USB.
Can you post your system info, not "About FreeCAD"? On win7 it's Start>Computer(right click)>Properties, then take a screen shot. Sorry Vista is being such an effort.
diep
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:26 am
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby diep » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:38 am

I have Xeon L5420 machines here.

2 cpu's, 8 cores each system. 2.5Ghz and i have different gpu's to choose from either Nvidia or AMD or even Nvidia Tesla's as i do sometimes some gpgpu coding for fun (mainly for prime numbers).

On the machines i have both windows as well as linux installed.
Also i have old macbookpro laptop. For linux i usually use debian with custom made firewalls by me.

The CAD design environment is of course not on the internet. It's military airgapped of course.
Some of the machines have Qt environment installed as i program in Qt as well.

The legal windows version i own is windows vista ultimate.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5889
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby sgrogan » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:44 am

diep wrote:For linux i usually use debian with custom made firewalls by me.
OK, then your not restricted to Vista. On Debian see here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18967 On Jessie this seems just about bullet proof. You'll get the latest and greatest of FreeCAD and the underlying dependencies.
diep
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:26 am
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby diep » Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:42 am

Won't work under release debian. For some weird reason FreeCAD wants latest beta version of debian.

Not sure how i go install that without internet connection.

To me it is always a mystery how software manages to not work for stable linux/stable windows computers from just a handful of years ago.
Yet what i understand is that FreeCAD is based upon opencascade which has very user unfriendly demands.

The power of open source should be IMHO that it also works for cheap hardware from years ago which obviously runs OS-es from years ago - yet that is my personal opinion. I"m not like Linus there who wants to use gigabytes of RAM with its default kernel meanwhile because of design issues being single threaded.
diep
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:26 am
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

Re: which OS version needed to run the builds

Postby diep » Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:47 am

Tried all the above versions at Vista. FreeCAD 0.17 does start there, yet when i go to part then click 'box' it complains about user32.dll
I know from previous post that indicates it only works at new windows version.

So i can choose from buying new windows or TurboCAD or invest a lot of my time and money install a Xeon node to latest beta version of Debian and pray it works as some reported here.

Kind Regards,
Vincent Diepeveen