Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by Kunda1 »

Discusssion thread for issue #3166
This is feature present in Blender, Krita and Natron. It maximizes window and hides title bar. It also covers Windows task-bar or KDE panel. I'm not sure about performance, but it frees some screen free space (panel and title bar).
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by Kunda1 »

Found a commit in Krita from 2010 implementing Full screen mode:
https://phabricator.kde.org/R469:74945c ... d762040a64
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
Eneen
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:06 pm

Re: Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by Eneen »

Sidenote: there is bug regarding tick-box, I've reported it:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=384108
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by Kunda1 »

Is it as simple as setting this property: https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qwidget.html#fullScreen-prop ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by triplus »

Code: Select all

# Toggle fullscreen

mw = Gui.getMainWindow()

if mw.isFullScreen():
    #  mw.showNormal()
    mw.showMaximized()
else:
    mw.showFullScreen()
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by triplus »

Standard fullscreen mode should be implemented now:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/967
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Feature #3166 Full Screen mode

Post by Kunda1 »

+1 !!
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Post Reply