Undo command problem or?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby meme2704 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:09 pm

hi!
. BINGO! the cube is deleted
This is normally normal because the last function completed is "create 1 cube"
the episode "change length, width, height, position, angle are only variable data of the function" create cube "
Undoo only applies to a completed function
Chriss
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:57 pm

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby Chriss » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:39 pm

That's ok if you think it should be done that way, but the users are not programmers, they most of time spend
his/her time to construct something and not thinking if "this or that" is a variable or a completed task.
But the undo command is used in other apps too as the name say "un-do" or "change something back in a earlier stage".

The mentioned cube or whatever had a length of 30mm and now it has a length of 40mm.
I think a task was also created, now the new cube length is longer then in the stage before.
So, from this point of view, this has nothing to do with variables.
Of course the length and all other operations are related to variables, but that is on a programming level i think so.

I'm a programmer too and now how things goes under programming, but we have to think as the user, as a simple user who makes a
very complex creation as we make too when we write our lines of code and we must not at all mix up these two worlds.

Conclusion:
I think the undo command should undo any changes what was made in the past and should nothing have with functions or variables etc..
How deep, I mean how far can an undo command go back? that comes also in rolling but maybe 5-10 changes backward would be nice...
No matter what live you have, but how you use it...
Chriss
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:57 pm

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby Chriss » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:16 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:08 pm
Chriss wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:38 pm
Thanks for bringing this to our attention and testing. Do you mind opening a ticket and linking it to this thread and linking this thread back to ticket?
sgrogan wrote:...
coincidentally an undo bug popped up on the tracker: issue #3339
Yes, I mind to open a ticket and linking vise versa....
Kunda1 pls if you can do that linking pls do it.
No matter what live you have, but how you use it...
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby meme2704 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:33 pm

5-10 changes backward would be nice...
For this value you go to "Edit / Preferences / General / 2sd alinea you increase or decrease this value.
I personally, I am set to 20, but you can put a lot more
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5428
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby sgrogan » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:59 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:08 pm
coincidentally an undo bug popped up on the tracker: issue #3339
I'll test this as well.
This issue also came up independently in the 0.18 Whiteboard/Brainstorming thread https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p213889
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5818
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:24 pm

Opened ticket issue #3341 for this issue.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5818
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Undo command problem or?

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:23 pm

soft bump to keep this thread alive
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features