BIM Workbench

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
paullee
Posts: 1690
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby paullee » Sun Mar 18, 2018 4:09 am

Found something discussed sometime ago...

Macro for BIM simulation of work
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 22&t=18612
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:41 am

I found a problem:
- open BIM Workbench
- create a solid cube from the toolbar
- double click on the cube in the tree view
- you can't drag the rotation spheres... (the displacement arrows work normally)

This only happens in BIM Workbench. In Part Workbench you can create the cube and the rotation spheres and arrows can be dragged... But if you move to BIM WB and try to do manipulate the spheres... the function fails for both workbenches.
FreeCAD_2018-03-18_23-28-03.png
FreeCAD_2018-03-18_23-28-03.png (91.53 KiB) Viewed 2169 times
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13429 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2e63ffd090d31676f5ed16de30c937b4b45efcf6
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
chrisb
Posts: 18038
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby chrisb » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:47 am

There are two ways of operating the transform tool
1) Single click on arrow or sphere and move the mouse without any button pressed.
2) Click and keep the left mouse button pressed and move

Do you have the issue with both variants?
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:22 am

chrisb wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:47 am
There are two ways of operating the transform tool
1) Single click on arrow or sphere and move the mouse without any button pressed.
2) Click and keep the left mouse button pressed and move

Do you have the issue with both variants?
Yes, in both cases. But now I found is not associated to BIM WB only. It also happens with Arch Workbench (in fact, sometimes strange things happen with transformation tool in other WB but with Arch WB it looks always fails at once). I noticed because BIM WB includes the solid cube in the toolbar. It happens with any solid, I guess.

- Create a solid cube in Part WB
- move to Arch WB
- activate transformation tool
- try to select the rotation spheres. They can be selected but won't move...

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13429 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2e63ffd090d31676f5ed16de30c937b4b45efcf6
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
chrisb
Posts: 18038
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby chrisb » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:36 am

bitacovir wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:22 am
- Create a solid cube in Part WB
- move to Arch WB
- activate transformation tool
- try to select the rotation spheres. They can be selected but won't move...
Sorry if it's obvious but let's sort trivial problems out. When I follow your advice the cube is in the XY plane. That means you cannot turn the object in any other plane. Thus the green and the red sphere do nothing.
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:13 am

chrisb wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:36 am

Sorry if it's obvious but let's sort trivial problems out. When I follow your advice the cube is in the XY plane. That means you cannot turn the object in any other plane. Thus the green and the red sphere do nothing.
Yes, it is in the XY plane. But it happens with the three spheres. I recorded a video to be more clear. But maybe I am doing something wrong?
archwindow5.gif
archwindow5.gif (725.05 KiB) Viewed 2123 times
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13429 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2e63ffd090d31676f5ed16de30c937b4b45efcf6
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/Australia (en_AU)
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
chrisb
Posts: 18038
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby chrisb » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:36 am

Thanks for the animation. It is very likely that the mistake is not on your side. Can someone using the same system please verify?
User avatar
bitacovir
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby bitacovir » Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:00 pm

Is it possible to move this part of the thread to another forum? I do not want to interrup the BIM WB discussion.
Thx.
::bitacovir::
===================================
One must be absolutely modern.
Arthur Rimbaud (A Season in Hell -1873)

My Blog
Mini Airflow Tunnel Project
paullee
Posts: 1690
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby paullee » Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:59 pm

bitacovir wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:41 am
I found a problem:
- open BIM Workbench
- create a solid cube from the toolbar
- double click on the cube in the tree view
- you can't drag the rotation spheres... (the displacement arrows work normally)
Hi, no problem here...


OS: Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13424 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 597dbf60947067852268033c32d6b78ac9ef280c
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: English/HongKong (en_HK)
Screenshot from 2018-03-19 20-54-21.png
Screenshot from 2018-03-19 20-54-21.png (160.48 KiB) Viewed 2101 times
Raph82
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: BIM Workbench

Postby Raph82 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:07 pm

Hello !

Not sure if this post is in the right topic or if it deserves its own...

I've talked to Open-datBIM at their booth at the Passive House Convention in Paris this month. They describe themselves as a free BIM product and object download platform. I understand that from this platform, FreeCAD could have properties about materials quite easily.

I thought it could be of interest to you, even if it maybe a little early. Hope this helps!

PS: I am not affiliated with Open-datBIM !