Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
hds
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:23 am

Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby hds » Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:48 am

Hello,
LoftedSplit.jpg
LoftedSplit.jpg (27.72 KiB) Viewed 286 times
i want to slice a bar between two lofted surfaces and remove the part between the lofts.
With "Part->Slice" the general slicing works, but than i'am stuck because the "downgrading" from the Draft WB does not work as expected.

Is there another way or option to "remove" (or at least make deselectable) the middle part ?

The deeper reason is that i need the splitted parts plus the lofts for an OFD mesh.

Thanks and Regards
Heiko

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13905 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: e80b5678ccfa59a5222b91bdc7e748a53a468468
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Attachments
ForumSliceHelp.fcstd
(15.26 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
chrisb
Posts: 18793
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby chrisb » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:06 am

Both of your lofts are invalid. Part->CheckGeometry shows it. You should fix this before continuing

There is a boolean slice operation which might help you , but booleans might not be working on non-solids.
User avatar
hds
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby hds » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:19 am

hm, i don't see no errors in my FC.
What does it says on your side ?
LoftedError.jpg
LoftedError.jpg (62.86 KiB) Viewed 274 times
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:21 am

chrisb wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:06 am
Both of your lofts are invalid. Part->CheckGeometry shows it. You should fix this before continuing

There is a boolean slice operation which might help you , but booleans might not be working on non-solids.
@Chris, for creating parting planes for injection mold inserts, I often use part slice to cut different faces. It work very well.

For this part first you have to create a boolean fuse between the two loft faces. Then select the cylinder, the boolean fuse and part slice. Install the Lattice2 workbench over addon-manager and use the tool explode compound to get single solids of the part slice.
ForumSliceHelp-fh-1.fcstd
(104.94 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
part-slice-loft-face.png
part-slice-loft-face.png (14.59 KiB) Viewed 273 times
Appendix:
It's not needed to create a boolean fuse between the two faces.
First select TiefenruderWelleVo, next select the two faces, then do part slice works perfect.
Then exlplode compound.
User avatar
hds
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby hds » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:35 am

@freecad-heini-1

Thanks a ton. Works like a charm !
chrisb
Posts: 18793
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby chrisb » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:38 am

hds wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:19 am
What does it says on your side ?
Do you have BOPCheck enabled? https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.p ... ckGeometry
freecad-heini-1
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:10 am
Contact:

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby freecad-heini-1 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:48 am

chrisb wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:38 am
hds wrote:
Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:19 am
What does it says on your side ?
Do you have BOPCheck enabled? https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.p ... ckGeometry
It's like the pictures and messages on cigarette packet.
Image

Each fillet creates an error on bopcheck.
User avatar
hds
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:23 am

Re: Part Slice between 2 loft surfaces

Postby hds » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:54 am

No need to dig any further. The tip with WB Lattice2 works great.
SpliceLoftMesh.jpg
SpliceLoftMesh.jpg (488.55 KiB) Viewed 252 times