Internal nodes [SOLVED]

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

Post Reply
EkaitzEsteban
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:31 pm

Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by EkaitzEsteban »

Hello,

How can I see the internal nodes?

EDIT: SOLVED
Last edited by EkaitzEsteban on Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Internal nodes

Post by bernd »

From the mesh or from results mesh?
EkaitzEsteban
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:31 pm

Re: Internal nodes

Post by EkaitzEsteban »

bernd wrote: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:27 pm From the mesh or from results mesh?
Hello Bernd,

Thank you for your fast response. Maybe I dont explain correctly, it was my first post :).
When I do a mesh, I can visualize the external nodes (on the surface) and it can be "selected" with the mouse. However, I want to be able to select both surface and internal nodes using the mouse.

I attach a coarse mesh of a simple cilinder to see the results.
SurfaceNodes_noInternal.PNG
SurfaceNodes_noInternal.PNG (43.5 KiB) Viewed 1464 times
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13528 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 5c3f7bf8ec51e2c7187789f7edba71a7aa82a88b
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Spanish/Spain (es_ES)
EkaitzEsteban
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:31 pm

Re: Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by EkaitzEsteban »

Hi,

I found a solution. ShowInner = True option allows to see the internal nodes and meshgrid.

The python API code is the following one:

Code: Select all

FreeCADGui.getDocument("Unnamed").getObject("FEMMeshNetgen").ShowInner = True
thank you.

Ekaitz.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by bernd »

Yep thats it, but only if you have less than 50000 Faces. Above this you need to increase the Parameter "Max Faces Show Inner"


Screenshot_20180913_172312.png
Screenshot_20180913_172312.png (122.06 KiB) Viewed 1431 times
EkaitzEsteban
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:31 pm

Re: Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by EkaitzEsteban »

bernd wrote: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:25 pm Yep thats it, but only if you have less than 50000 Faces. Above this you need to increase the Parameter "Max Faces Show Inner"



Screenshot_20180913_172312.png
Thank you bernd
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by bernd »

Not to forget. If faces are set to be shown the internal of the mesh can only be seen if trancparency is set to somewhat >> 0
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by bernd »

The FEM clipping box works with the FEM mesh too. Just the selection of the clipping plane has to be done on a normal part. But this usually exists if there is a FEM mesh.


screen.jpg
screen.jpg (321.69 KiB) Viewed 1340 times
EkaitzEsteban
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:31 pm

Re: Internal nodes [SOLVED]

Post by EkaitzEsteban »

bernd wrote: Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:13 am The FEM clipping box works with the FEM mesh too. Just the selection of the clipping plane has to be done on a normal part. But this usually exists if there is a FEM mesh.



screen.jpg
Thank you, very interesting for selecting internal nodes
Post Reply