Different beam sections

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

m.cavallerin
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:59 pm

Different beam sections

Postby m.cavallerin » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:12 pm

Hi all,

how can I define different beam sections for different lines?
I'm only able to define 1 type and if I try to define two, selecting one at a time, I get the error message when I run the analysis

Enclosed, the test case I'm running

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Attachments
error.png
error.png (16.91 KiB) Viewed 182 times
exampleTwoBeams.fcstd
(11.48 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8329
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Different beam sections

Postby bernd » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:31 pm

works great here if you add a reference to both objects ...


exampleTwoBeams-bernd1.fcstd
(43.99 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
m.cavallerin
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: Different beam sections

Postby m.cavallerin » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:41 pm

Personal reminder --> "check one more time before posting spam" :oops:
Thanks a lot.

Regards
chrisb
Posts: 18029
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Different beam sections

Postby chrisb » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:47 pm

m.cavallerin wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:41 pm
Personal reminder --> "check one more time before posting spam" :oops:
Is this a general remark or do refer to something special?
m.cavallerin
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: Different beam sections

Postby m.cavallerin » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:58 pm

It refers only to me and the rush to immediately find the solution to a problem.
I asked for help and I got it, thanks to Bernd for support.

In fact it was only a question of checking the analysis settings once more.
I did not mean to offend anyone.
chrisb
Posts: 18029
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Different beam sections

Postby chrisb » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:09 pm

m.cavallerin wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:58 pm
I did not mean to offend anyone.
I did not feel offended, but I was chasing spammers for the last couple of days, so I got alerted.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8329
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: Different beam sections

Postby bernd » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:21 pm

BTW, if you set 3D output to true you gone see the different size of the sections. You do not even run an analysis for this. You could use the check analysis type for this. But you need an up to date FreeCAD and you need to add a new solver.

bernd